Review – Slammed & Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover

ImageSLAMMED BY COLLEEN HOOVER

SUMMARY: The financial aftermath of her father’s unexpected death forces Layken and her family to move across the country at the beginning of her senior year. Torn away from everything and everyone she knows, Layken’s outlook on life is anything but hopeful. Until she meets her new neighbor, Will Cooper. An attractive twenty-one year old with an intriguing passion for slam poetry. Through their similar pasts, they form an immediate …and intense connection. A connection neither of them knew they needed until they found it. Unfortunately, the cards just aren’t in their favor. Layken and Will are slammed to the core when their new relationship is derailed by a shocking revelation, sparking a tumultuous battle between their hearts and their ethics. Just when she thinks she’s found her balance, a secret is revealed. A secret so intense, all of Layken’s current problems pale in comparison.

MY THOUGHTS:

These books did something to me. They were so touching and just had my heart I LOVED the poetry that was in it and I never before had a desire to go and watch people perform but after reading this book how can I not want to? I LOVED everything about this book it was intense. I laughed and cried. There was a connection that I made with Lake that was almost instant. I just felt so bad for her when things were going wrong for her. I wished I could fix it all for her and I just LOVED how things happened in the book! It was “bemazing” I couldn’t get enough of it. I felt like it was so real and so genuine. Like I was a part of it all and not just reading it.

POINT OF RETREAT BY COLLEEN HOOVER

SUMMARY: Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart. Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’

MY THOUGHTS:

I absolutely LOVE that it is in Will’s perspective. It took me a minute to get used to that because I was expecting it to be from Lakes POV like the first book is. In this one we meet Kiersten and she cracked me up. Soo smart for a child; she is like a 40 year old woman trapped in an eleven year olds body. She fit right into their circle and I enjoyed her little twist from time to time. There are so many different moments in this one where I wanted to yell at Will and tell him he is an idiot but then again what good does it do for me to be yelling at a book? like this point I was yelling at him…

“It’s the clear headedness behind her voice and the calm reasonable expression in her eyes that rips my heart right out of my chest. She turns to leave and all I can do is let her go. I just let her go.”

I was so pulled into the book that I felt as though I was a part of it there at their dinners there when there were arguments just wanting to help them and be there for them.

I wasn’t sure if this one was going to have them going to slams or not and when I got to parts where they did I loved it. I looked forward to it. I was so into the slams and just couldnt wait for more. I just love Will and his way of saying how he feels, and it comes across as just that he is so wonderful when it comes to poetry and slams. When things got intense I couldn’t put the book down I needed to know how things turn out so I am sitting in my bed reading at 1230 at night still because I just have to know how it turns out. That’s when I know I love a book when I am so pulled in I feel as though everything is happening right in front of me I fell everything they are feeling as though i am there with them. I “butterflying” love these books and the story! I am absolutely looking forward to them becoming movies!!!

On Colleen’s page she has a link to a guy who reads one of her poems and it brought a tear to my eye.. it was… there really is no words. I wish he would do the last poem in Point of Retreat!

http://youtu.be/trmHJLJAgB8 this is The Lake if you have read the book you HAVE to watch!

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

