Review – Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

ImageGOODREADS DESCRIPTION: (A TABOO SUBJECT:INCEST & LOVE)

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

MY THOUGHTS:

This was the first book I have ever read that was on one of the most taboo subjects I have ever heard of. I know that there are others but this is one that has the biggest I can think of. Incest. I have to say I wasnt sure how I was going to take it. If I would get to parts and just say forget it and put it down and move on to another book but I will have to say that I am glad I read it I fell in love with characters and my heart broke over their situation. And at the same time I just couldn’t wrap my head about the thought of a brother and sister being together and in love. I can see HOW it would all happen it is all spelled out there in the book for you. And part of me just kept thinking please let them be not really related. I wanted them so desperately to just be happy together because they just deserved it. At the same time all I could think was this is SO wrong and sick. But I couldn’t put the book down. And the ending… I am honestly not sure what I was expecting because I really didn’t know where it was going to end up or where it could end up. I would have to say I wasn’t expecting the ending that came. I am happy with the story and my heart broke so many different times in this book. Being a mommy I just wanted to take all the kids in and just love them. For the most part the story was about love between two people who happened to be brother and sister, I was able to get past the incest part for the most part yes it did bother me to read it but it was all part of the story.

This book is NOT for everyone and there will be those out there that will not even be able to get into it because of the taboo subject matter. I am glad I took the time to read this book. It was an eye opener for me of a subject that I never would have thought to even read.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

