Review – Nobody’s Hero by Kallypso Masters

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION:

Retired Marine Master Sergeant Adam Montague has battled through four war zones, but now finds himself running from Karla Paxton, who has declared war on his heart. With a twenty-five year age difference, he feels he should be her guardian and protector, not her lover. But Karla’s knack for turning up in his bed at inopportune times is killing his resolve to do the right thing. Karla isn’t a little girl anymore—something his body reminds him of every chance it gets.

Karla Paxton fell in love with Adam when she was a sixteen-year-old runaway and he rescued her. Now, nine years later, she’s determined to make Adam see her as a woman. But their age difference is only part of the problem. Adam has been a guardian and protector for lost and vulnerable souls most of his life, but a secret he has run from for more than three decades has kept him emotionally unable to admit he can love anyone. Will she be able to lower his guard long enough to break down the defenses around his heart and help him put to rest the ghosts from his past? In her all-out war to get Adam to surrender his heart, can the strong-willed Goth singer offer herself as his submissive—and at what cost to herself?

 

MY THOUGHTS:

I was so excited to get to this one. I thought it was going to be the 2nd book in the series since Adam is the first story in the intro to the series. At first it was kind of weird because well she was so young when they met she was only 16 but then when they re-connect she is 25 and grown up. Once again I have an image of Adam thanks to the author she says in the first book with their first encounter that he looks like Mark Harmon I don’t think he looked so much like him in my head but I will give her that since he was the one that I just couldn’t seem to figure out who he would look like.

 

This is who the author says resembles Adam (Mark Harmon)

But even down to the character he plays on NCIS I could see that being Adam. I loved watching the relationship grow between them two. I wanted to yell at him that yes she was young when you guys met for the first time but she isn’t anymore… GET WITH IT OLD MAN! Lol but I have to say that I did enjoy the older man with the younger girl I haven’t read anything like that just yet that wasn’t perverse in anyway at all what so ever although he kept thinking people would not be okay with it. And he just is having such a hard time with his wife’s death even though it was 9 years ago. My heart broke for him and for her. She is very much a strong willed woman and I was so happy when she put her foot down. I don’t think there was anything about the story that I didn’t enjoy. There were a couple things that I wasn’t so sure about and will have to look it up and see if I am wrong. It is the collaring. That was the one thing that I had a different understanding about but in this one it is different then what I had originally believed but I am sure like with anything people live in the BDSM world and adjust things to work for them.

I enjoyed learning new things that I hadn’t read about yet. It is always fun when you can learn something new. J This one also gets into what happened to Karla’s girlfriend. As well as brining back and setting up for the next book. Damian and Savi’s book!!!

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

2 responses to “Review – Nobody’s Hero by Kallypso Masters

  • our24yeargap

    I love good age gap books! Most make my relationship sound horrible, but it’s not. I’m going to read this one and see what I think of it. Thanks!

    • B's Books

      It doesn’t make it seem “gross” by any means I wanted them together when she was sixteen haha I just knew she was supposed to be with him but there is a 25 year gap and it is written well!! Although I understand his reason for tryin to put the breaks on it I wanted to slap him a few times and just tell hm to get over the age difference!! Haha enjoy the read!

Tell me what cha think

