Review – Playing for Keeps by R.L. Mathewson

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION:

Done with being the world’s biggest pushover, Haley decides that things are going to change starting with the aggravating neighbor who has too much charm and not enough restraint. What she didn’t expect was to be sucked into his world, but Haley has a game plan and she won’t let herself forget just what the bad boy next door is capable of. The last thing Jason expected was for his little shy neighbor to go Rambo on him over some ruined flowers. After he decides to take her under his wing he can’t help but that notice that she fits very nicely in his life. Now the only left is to convince her that this is anything but a game.

MY THOUGHTS:

I had heard that this was a good book to read if you wanted something that is a funny romance. I couldn’t wait to start it because I needed something that was light and funny but I still needed my romance! I loved it. There were SO many moments that I was laughing and LOVED the food aspect of the book!!

I hated Jason at first because he seemed like such an ass but then just fell in LOVE with him!

Here is one of many instances when food is involved with him and the people around him. (Brad is one of his best friends)

“How dare you touch my cookies, you bastard!” Jason said in utter disgust before popping the cookie into his mouth and heading back to his house. “Damn those looked good, too,” Brad grumbled. Haley sighed. “Don’t worry I have a second plate on my counter.” The words were barely out of her mouth when Jason abruptly changed course and headed towards her house. “Well, there was,” she said, watching Jason walk into her house like he owned it. A minute later he walked out of her house, carrying both plates and the gallon of milk she had in her fridge. He headed back to his house, but not before he glared at Brad. “You cookie thieving bastard,” they heard him mutter.”

The relationship between the two of them is just great! There is the love of best friends and they try to keep things that way. Until one moment that changes everything. And changes their relationship. I love how they talked to each other and how they just joked around all the time.

“He glared accusingly at her while he made short work of his clothes. “You didn’t wake me up.” She rolled her eyes as she speared a piece of sausage with her fork. “I did wake you up. Three times in fact. Each time you threw something at me and went back to sleep.” Jason gaped at her. “And you gave up? You know our routine, woman. You have to keep at it until I’m forced to get off the bed to find something to throw at you.”

I couldn’t put this one down just for the purpose of needing to know how it turns out and needed to just read there back and forth banter.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

One response to “Review – Playing for Keeps by R.L. Mathewson

Tell me what cha think

