Review – Time Untime by Sherrilyn Kenyon

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION:

Kateri Avani has been plagued her entire life with dreams she doesn’t understand. Images of places she’s never been and of a man she’s never seen. Her quest for answers has driven her to Las Vegas where she hopes to finally silence the demons in her mind.
What she never anticipates is coming face to face with the warrior who has haunted her her entire life. One who belongs to a world the scientist in her refuses to believe is real.
Ren Waya came back from the dead to keep the prophecy he began from coming true and ending the world. For thousands of years, he has fought the same evil that once possessed him. But now that evil has found the one person he can’t fight. The one person who, against his will, holds the most sacred part of him.
His heart.
But if he doesn’t kill Kateri, the deadliest of evils will reemerge and destroy everyone else on the planet. It was a sacrifice he made once.
Will he be able to make it again?

 

MY THOUGHTS:

This one for me is a VERY close second to Acheron for me. I LOVED it so much there was so much about it that I enjoyed. There were so many words of wisdom and there were heart wrenching moments and funny ones as well and I just love when we get to see so many of the other dark-hunters as well as Sasha (scooby) its like a little treat every time I read one of her books. I did miss my Simi though. But Nick made up for that ten-fold!!

“Ah, cher, that aint right. Laying lips on me to help another man out? Cold, cher, cold.”

I liked so much about this book it is hard to pick just one thing but if I have to I would have to say it is the epilogue!!! Cried like a baby! I loved learning about a different side, usually it is daimons but this one was more about spirits, Mayans, Keetoowah and their heritage as well as beliefs. I really enjoyed the different pace and I grew up in a Hispanic home so reading the spanglish in there just made me fall even more in love with it!

There was so much hurt, love, sadness, happiness, hate, and just heartache you wish you could take away from Ren because you wanted him to just feel LOVE.

I know for a friend of mine it struck a chord for her and this book will hold a special place in her heart because of the personal connection that she felt when reading it.

I have recently lost a friendship over something that I still to this day don’t understand, as well as some things that happened in my life growing up with family that were just more hurtful than I could explain to someone. So there were quite a few sentences in there that just stuck with me when I was reading:

“Betrayals were never easy. When they came from a stranger, they were hateful. When they came from a friend, they were hurtful, and when they came from family… They were vitriolic.”

And one I am sure everyone at one point in time in their lives can relate to:

“the harshest lessons come when we disappointing ourselves. When we put our trust and our hearts into the hands of the wrong person and they do us wrong. And while we may hate them for what they did, the one we hate most is ourselves for allowing them into our private circle”

Her books are always filled with so much greatness. Great story, great banter between the characters, great sadness/heartache, great love/happiness, great advice, great everything. I know I will always walk away after reading one of her books knowing I learned something and always feeling like I made a new friend then I have to remind myself they are not real haha. Even if it is a saying or quote that sticks with me (because in her books there is ALWAYS something to stick with you), I always enjoy a great author and she truly is one.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

