Review – Flat Out Love by Jessica Park

20120823-212302.jpg

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION: (portion)

Flat-Out Love is a warm and witty novel of family love and dysfunction, deep heartache and raw vulnerability, with a bit of mystery and one whopping, knock-you-to-your-knees romance.

Something is seriously off in the Watkins home. And Julie Seagle, college freshman, small-town Ohio transplant, and the newest resident of this Boston house, is determined to get to the bottom of it.

When Julie’s off-campus housing falls through, her mother’s old college roommate, Erin Watkins, invites her to move in. The parents, Erin and Roger, are welcoming, but emotionally distant and academically driven to eccentric extremes. The middle child, Matt, is an MIT tech geek with a sweet side … and the social skills of a spool of USB cable. The youngest, Celeste, is a frighteningly bright but freakishly fastidious 13-year-old who hauls around a life-sized cardboard cutout of her oldest brother almost everywhere she goes.

MY THOUGHTS:

I laughed quite a bit at the nutty humor in this one! I enjoyed the banter very much and then Celeste is introduced and she cracks me up and she also breaks my heart. I love how Julie interacts with everyone and how much she just fits in at the Watkins family. There were many moments that had me laughing and I just enjoy good back and forth banter then about maybe half way through I yelled out OH MY GOD! And my husband just looked at me crazy and asked me “okay what happened in your book now?” so I told him my revelation and he just wasn’t feeling it like I was.. I was invested in this story! I needed him to understand what was going on and he just didn’t so I told him to forget it! lol

“I hope that someday they invent a car that runs on inappropriate thoughts”

“Thinks that twitter is like facebook’s slutty cousin. It does everything dumb and whore-ish you’re too responsible to do”

I loved all the Facebook status updates she put in by the characters in the book.

“If you can’t stop thinking about someone’s update, that’s called “status cling.”

I would recommend this to anyone who would like a sweet read that is complicated as well, I did tear up a few times it did have heart wrenching moments. I did love this one and was really hoping that Jessica was going to do another book about them but I don’t think she is because I think for her that was the end of it. I kind of wanted more something to tell me how they are doing. So I can appreciate the fact that they haven’t come to her for another book. BUT I am still hoping. lol

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

