Review – The Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION:

It’s been twelve years since Tru Bennett last saw Jake Wethers, her former best friend and boy she once loved.

Jake Wethers, sexy, tattooed and deliciously bad lead singer, and brains behind The Mighty Storm, one of biggest bands in the world, left Tru with a broken heart when he moved from England to America with his family when they were both fourteen.

Sent to interview Jake for her music column by the magazine she works for, they are both unprepared for the sparks that fly the instant they reconnect. Only, there’s a complication to their instant feelings for one another – Will, Tru’s boyfriend of two years.

Then Jake makes Tru a job offer she can’t refuse – travelling the world with him and his band. But taking the job means leaving Will behind, and being on the road with the band means spending an inordinate amount of time with Jake.

Is Tru strong enough to resist the delectable bad boy who once held her heart so completely, or will she willingly risk it all for one night with the worlds most notorious womanizer?

MY THOUGHTS:

Starting this book I was so excited I just love a rock star! But this one was nothing like the other books I have read that are based on rock stars. Usually you get all the banter between the members of the band and this one didn’t have much of that so that I was missing very much but this one was so full of angst and I am a sucker for some good angst filled books so how could I NOT love it?! All the hurt, loneliness, pain, loss, love there were so many times I wanted to just not put the book down but I had well my daily life things get in the way.

And who could disagree with Tru when she first sees Jake for the first time after 12 years…

            what is it about men in jeans and bare feet which is so totally hot?

And Stuart… well I just loved him he is just the best!!! (he is Jake’s PR guy)

            “Remember honey, he’s a man, and with men you just have to treat them like the children they are.”

OHHH so true at times!!! Lol

It took me longer then I wanted it to, to finish it. But once I hit about 70% through I couldn’t put it down so I was up until about 1230am reading until I finished last night! I had many moments in this book that my heart just broke. I got misty eyed, I giggled, I was happy, I was sad, and at one point I was so livid my heart was racing in aticipation and all I could think was NOOOO then with a turn of a doorknob I wanted to yell YOU ASSHOLE. It was as if I was the one there turning that knob I was so invested in this story at this point it was like I was there. And that does not happen with every book I read just the good ones! I could feel all the feelings that Tru was feeling at some points in the book and it just made it so much more enjoyable

I know for me I had gotten so worked up at one point that I couldn’t help but grin when there was one part that had me so giddy when there was an alpha man scene..

            He looks down at his hand, then runs his tongue over his lip, licking the blood and smirks. “I’ll let you have the first one mother fucker, but not the next.”

I LOVE a rock star that is for sure and when music is brought in not just as what he does but as a way to explain how someone is feeling I just LOVE it. I know for me I listen to music that can explain how I feel at a specific time in my life it is a release for me. I know for right now I can not stop thinking about this one and wish I would have waited to read it so I had the second one to jump right into. I hate having to wait and spring of next year just seems to far away!

This one is definitely going onto my list of favorite rock star books.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

