Review – Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION:

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

MY THOUGHTS:

I had read this after I had been told that it is similar to the fifty shades books and after finishing this one it was NOTHING like fifty. The ONLY thing I could see that is similar at all what so ever would be the angst in the story. The fact that they just didn’t talk to each other when there was something that needed to be talked about.

That aside I did love the story. I am a sucker for an alpha male and well Travis is ALL alpha male and does underground fighting. Who could go wrong with that? Not me! I loved everything about him! Abby at times irritated me because all I wanted to do was yell at her STOP fighting it just get with him! haha I fell in absolute LOVE with Travis and just wanted to keep him for myself!

I mean when he says things like this who wouldn’t fall in love with him??

“You know why I want you? I didn’t know I was lost until you found me. I didn’t know what alone was until the first night I spent without you in my bed. You’re the one thing I’ve got right. You’re what I’ve been waiting for, Pigeon.”

Ahhhhh…. A beautiful disaster..

“It’s dangerous to need someone that much. You’re trying to save him and he’s hoping you can. You two are a disaster.” I smiled at the ceiling. “It doesn’t matter what or why it is. When it’s good, Kara… it’s beautiful.”

There were a lot of funny moments that had me laughing and this was one when she kept rolling her eyes when Trav was talking to her..

“Do you have a twitch?” “A what?” “A twitch. Your eyes keep wiggling around.” He laughed again when I glared at him.

There is a scene at the bar that had me laughing SO hard!!! Ahhh men… what they do when they don’t want other men dancing with their “girl”. Just thinking about it now makes me giggle.

When he started to call her pigeon I was a bit lost and couldn’t figure out why in the world he was calling her that since her name is Abby. Then he explains it:

“Abs? What are you, a workout video?” he sneered. “Pigeon?” I said with the same amount of disdain. “An annoying bird that craps all over the sidewalk?” You like Pigeon,” he said defensively. “It’s a dove, an attractive girl, a winning card in poker, take your pick. You’re my Pigeon.”

There is so much I enjoyed about this book and I will be reading it again when I get a chance to. And I also LOVE the fact that they are going to be turning it into a movie! And I can not wait for Walking Disaster which is this book but in Travis’ POV! I am so excited about it!!!! I would HIGHLY recommend it to ANY and EVERY one who wants a good angst filled love story! It was GOOD! I could sit here and quote the book all day but don’t want to do that haha so I will end with If you have NOT read this one you MUST!!! You will NOT regret it! It is SO worth it!

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

