Review – Taking Chances by Molly McAdams

20120913-215857.jpg

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION:
Eighteen year old Harper has grown up under her career Marine of a father’s thumb. Ready to live life her own way and experience things she’s only ever heard of from the jarheads in her father’s unit; she’s on her way to college at San Diego State University.

Thanks to her new roommate, Harper is introduced to a world of parties, gorgeous guys, family and emotions. Some she wasn’t expecting yet, and others she never knew she was missing.

She finds herself being torn in two as she quickly falls in love with her boyfriend Brandon, and her roommate’s brother Chase. Covered in tattoos, known for fighting in the Underground and ridiculously muscled…they’re exactly what she was always warned to stay away from, but just what she needs. Despite their dangerous looks and histories, both adore and would do anything for Harper, including stepping back if it means she’s happy.

Her first year away is turning out to be near perfect, but one weekend of giving in to heated passion will change everything.

Due to sexual situations and language, this is Mature YA/New Adult. Recommended for ages 17+

MY THOUGHTS:
WOW!!! That was a VERY emotional ride and I loved EVERY minute of it. I couldnt think of how to descrbibe this book until I had come across a review that had the best way

“it is Beautiful Disaster meets Thoughtless”

I was so pulled into this book from the begining I was so drawn in and invested into the story I couldnt stop thinking about it and couldnt wait to get back to the book any time I had to put it down. I fell in love with BOTH Chase and Brandon and my heart broke throughout this book. I was sucker punched in the gut a time or two and then wanted to yell at Harper that she is so stupid and crazy and she needed to get with it!! I cried a few times reading this and it was hard to not feel like I was there when everything was happening. I just love when I find a book that can pull me in the way this one did.

If you want a love story that is absolutely FULL of angst and struggles along with sweetness and love this would be a GREAT choice. There were so many moments in this that I just fell in love with one of the characters or just have my heart ripped out of my chest. When one of the guys is talking to her and is trying to explain to her how much she is worth it :

“you deserve someone who has waited for you as long as you have waited for them. And no matter how much I wish I could be that guy, I can’t Harper.”

at the same time I did come across moments that made me laugh and me personally being someone that is on the “shorter” end as far as my height as Harper is this part had me cracking up:

“God you’re so short.” “No, the rest of you are just freakishly tall.”

all in all this is absolutely a must read and in all the angst that is in it there is so much love. It was easy to become obsessed with this book and feel as though you are there through everything that happens and when they hurt you feel it and when they are happy you feel that also when they are confused I can honestly say that for the first time reading a love triangle I didn’t know what to feel I felt as torn as Harper did. And that was a first for me. I am so glad that I took the opportunity to read this one it was absolutely worth it!!! It will pull you in and I know for me I will not forget this one. It is up there with my top favorite angst filled romance novels!

GREAT NEWS!!: I was looking at Molly’s blog (dont read the comments if you have not read the book there are spoilers posted) and she says that she is going to be doing another book but in Chase’s POV!! I am so beyond excited!!!!! NOW what would put me over the top is to find out they are making this one into a movie!!!!!!

You can follow her here on her:

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

She also has pictures posted on some things from the book… who she pictured in her mind while she wrote this GREAT story! So I am posting some extra pictures of  “Chase, Harper and Brandon” in the slide show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

2 responses to “Review – Taking Chances by Molly McAdams

  • Deena McArthur

    After searching “everywhere” for this book, with the help of Molly herself. I finally had the chance to read this book. It is a beautiful story. Sure a cross between Beautiful Disaster and Thoughtless, but so different at the same time. Absolutely, loved this book. I may have to reread just cause. Awesome! is all I can say. I would recommend this book as a must read, very emotional.

    • Momma's Books

      Agree!! It was absolutely a ride of emotions. And I have passed it on to all of my friends that they have to read this one. I have read reviews on it and so many people feel the same. I love a story full of angst and this one was that! I I am so excited and a little scared to read Chase’s POV! Have a feelin I will be crying while I do so.

Tell me what cha think

