Review – Geek Girl by Cindy C. Bennett

BLURB: (YA)

“Think I can turn that boy bad?”

17-year-old Jen turns her life upside down when, out of boredom, she makes a bet that she can turn school geek Trevor into someone like her. Instead, the goth girl finds herself sucked into his world of sci-fi movies, charity work, and even-ugh!-bowling. To truly belong with him-and with her new foster family-she must first come to terms with her violent past.

 

MY THOUGHTS:

I had entered a contest on Sherry Gammons website and I won and was so excited because I love her books and along with paperback copies of her books I had received this one as well I had never heard of it and the blurb sounded interesting so I jumped right in and am glad that I did.

I have read many “bad boy” kind of books and so this was my first “bad girl” type of book.

I enjoyed it very much. I couldn’t put it down once I got to the part where she actually went to talk to Trevor. So it was pretty much instantly ha-ha.  I just had to know how it all went. I stayed up until 1am to finish the book. I have to say that I didn’t see it, for the most part I know how things go in books before I get to what actually happens. I thought things were going to play out a little differently then what I had actually happened as I was reading.

I loved the relationships that grew and the friendships. Even though there are other characters that may play small parts in the book they were all very important and I have to say the moral of the story is VERY good!

I don’t know how many kids today try to be something they are not to make someone else happy or to try and cover up things in their life that they just don’t want to talk about or deal with.

I think at some point in time we all may have gone through a time like this where we just want to be loved and accepted for who we are but we are still so young we don’t honestly deep down know exactly who that is until we find that one something that can bring it out and we realize that not everything we have done or those we hang out with defy who we are as people. And no matter how much hurt a person may have gone through it also does not define how much you deserve as far as love and want and desire goes.

I think it would be awesome to see what happens after Jen graduates high school. Where everyone goes and what everyone does with their lives.

But I believe that is when a good book has sucked me in (yet again) when I cant stop thinking ‘what if’ and ‘I wonder if’ about the characters in those books. This is definitely one that had me and I immediately fell in love with Trev. And to anyone who read this book you will completely understand once you get introduced to him. All in all this book has pulled me and left me wanting more. I hope that everyone who reads it enjoys it as much as I did.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

