Review – Sheltered by Charlotte Stein

BLURB:

Evie has lived her entire life under her abusive father’s thumb. He controls everything. Where she goes to college, who she sees, what she does. But when she meets Van—a punk who shows her how different life could be—she realizes how much she’s been missing.

Van offers her excitement, protection, love…and most of all, sex—even if he’s at first reluctant to give her all the things she’s been craving. She wants to explore this new world of arousal and desire, but Van is only too aware of how fragile she is, how innocent…

And how much is at stake, when their love is forbidden.

 

MY THOUGHTS:

I did enjoy this story. I know that there are girls that are out there that have to live in the shelter of their overbearing and overprotective fathers and I am sure some are also abusive.

It is a shorter read and I have a love/hate relationship with short reads. I can get through them faster yes but I am usually left wanting more needing to know more.

I always love reading about a bad boy who is broken and finds solece in the herorin in the book. But with this one they are both so broken and lost. You get to watch them both grow to care about one another.

Evie is living at home and stuck at 16 when I was reading I had forgotten that she was older then what she actually was. She lives in fear of her father, she has never known love, or anything really to do with the outside world that other kids her age have and do. It is almost like she is stuck in the 40’s with the way that the house is being run. She is legally an adult but still lived in fear of her father taking a belt to her and there are a few times that she is with Van where she is positive if her father knew he would be burying her in the backyard.

Your heart goes out to her and you just want her to run away far away from that crazy household and that crazy man she calls her father. There is a reason she stays and does not go anywhere. It is important for her to stay. She wants more for herself and Van helps her to see that she deserves more and the first time she smokes with him.. WOW that is all I can say it was very erotic without being erotic (if that makes sense haha)! I loved everything about that scene that is for sure!

There are some things that she just was told or heard that were just NOT true, but I will admit had me giggling from time to time.

“There were times, many, many times, when she just didn’t get him. She’d heard on numerous occasions that men were bad, wicked creatures, who’d do terrible things at a moment’s notice. You wore the wrong skirt or bent over at an inopportune time and BAM. They slipped their penises into you.”

All in all it was a good story and I enjoyed it, the only downfall it was too short I wanted more. And well the cover… so yeah for the most part I like the cover I didn’t like the guys hair on the cover though haha but that’s just me.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

