Review ~ Release Me by J. Kenner

Book: Release Me

Author: J. Kenner

Series: Stark Trilogy #1

<– *click on cover pic to go to amazon link*

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Blurb:

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. 
 
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

 

Thoughts:

This was a good read!! I did enjoy it and was a nice erotic read! Had a good mix of steamy-ness mixed in with mystery. I couldn’t get through it fast enough I didn’t want to put it down because I needed to know what was going to happen why things were happening the way they were.. all I know is I have so many questions that I need answers to. I did enjoy the story. It was similar to other books I have read but that doesn’t take away the way this writer wrote. Even though it says if you like Bared to You and Fifty Shades then you will love this one. I HATE comparing books because unless they are all written by the same author you can not really compare they will all be different. These types of stories have been written for years. The troubled millionaire who falls for the “average” girl.  But with Fifty going mainstream it is making all of these books popular.

All in all it was a good read and like I had said I was left with so many questions so I only hope that there will be another book that will get more into the issues that Damina has and his “secrets” as well as answer some questions. I enjoyed the phone sex! That was HOT! I have not read many books that have that. And well what can I say I am a sucker for dirty talk so this was right up my alley! 🙂 I loved it all!

I would have to say that the only issue that I had was the ‘scenes’ that they did… okay I am not a person who lives the lifestyle but I have read a lot of books that have bdsm in them and in them the guys were all very experienced so when reading and not knowing if he is still new to the scene and that is why he kept forgetting to make her say ‘yes sir’ when he started with it but then I am guessing got caught up in the moment. Haha so as I read instead of letting that bother me so much I just told myself that he is still new to it all so he may mess up from time to time like remembering to tell her to address him as Sir (but there is no question he knows his way around a womans body). So to be 100% honest that was the one big issue that I had. And I do have a pet peeve of the word baby (and well any word that is used over and over all the time). When it is used too often “hey baby, oh baby, look baby, baby, baby, baby,” haha and it was not there on every other page but there was I think one scene where I personally thought it was used one too many times. But the sex more then made up for that!!

I think this is a great read for those who are not into the more ‘stronger’ bdsm books but like the light bdsm; because this had it but it was not over powering. If you enjoy a very intense, broken, closed off, dominant, alpha billionaire then this is your book! I enjoy all of those things in a hero in my books! 🙂 I also enjoyed her personality. She thank goodness was not the pushover type of girl, she stood up for herself for the most part but when you are taken over by a hot man sometimes it can be hard to stay mad at them. Lol (I mean my personal hot alpha male can distract me pretty well also) They also had some cute banter. Banter is always good when the story-line can be a bit intense.

“Maybe you’re not as smart as you think you are, Mr. Stark.”

“Nonsense. I’m fucking brilliant. Or haven’t you heard?”

There are many moments where I couldn’t help but feel connected to Nikki. So many people I am sure can feel as though they are in a situation with someone who they know is bad for them but they just can not seem to get away from it. They know the situation and person is all around a bad choice but as the saying goes “like a moth to a flame” you just can not seem to turn away and leave it alone.

“I like cheesecake, but I only have it rarely. And I know its bad for me.”

“Sometimes bad is good”

“Bullshit. That’s what people say to alleviate their own guilt or justify their own weakness. Bad is bad.”

But when it comes to Damien why would you want to say no?? I know I wouldn’t  that is for sure! Because sometimes even thought you may know in your mind that it is NOT the best thing for you, your heart can not let you walk away.

I am so glad I was able to read this one and I will be keeping an eye out to see if/when the author will be doing a sequel.

Brandy

3 stars

Thoughts:

Damien Stark is a former tennis player turned millionaire entreprenuer. He falls for Nikki (yes I loved that we share the name) former beauty queen. Shes was a recipient of his companies scholarship in college and met him once at a beauty contest. Now, in her new job, she’s a techy, set to help pitch a new product for him to invest in. Her boss uses her at a party to get his attention, and it all goes crazy   from there.

I guess I’m just a sucker for a damaged hot bazillionaire dominant. Release me was no different in that aspect. Very similar to 50 Shades and Bared to You. Hot rich guy with a secret meets a girl with a secret. Hot sex, temultuous relationship, the whole 9 yards. I love it. It had me hooked from the beginning. At first I didnt think I’d like another book with the same basis as so many others, but it was a bit different. I felt there was a good balance of both a story line and hot sex which is always a plus. Not too much is revealed about Damien and his past so that there is much more to discover in the next few books in the series.

A few things that hitched me up was that at some points, there were almost too many similarities to other books like this one. They went to a charity event that he sponsored having something to do with children and his secret. He was super “stalkerish” and new things about her she never told him because he had done an extensive background. He tried to interfere in her career. Her vulnerability and quick dependance on him as well. Some of these similarities kinda turned me off a little bit.

But overall I would recommend reading this. Not sure when the next ones are coming out, but I have read that there will be 3 in the series. I will definitely be on the lookout for the next one!

Nikki

4 stars

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

