Review – On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

BLURB:

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul

MY THOUGHTS:

Who does NOT love such an alpha male?? I will have to say that I was sold on the guy the minute he was introduced in the book… (sigh) He Always is so in control and that is what I love about him. He is just all around HOT! And the banter between then makes me giggle. They go back and forth and he always seems to end with the upper hand:

“ You’re such a gentleman to everyone but me. Whats with that?”

“I want you in my bed. Gentlemen are boring in bed.”

I mean WOW who would not just say YES PLEASE to that? Someone who is crazy that is who. I was like YES! Go, don’t be stupid girl just DO IT! Lol

He is so hard-headed and knows what he wants and is not afraid to go after it and I love that she doesn’t let that determine anything for her she stands her ground and doesn’t just back down and give in, but when she does she some how does it without letting him throw her whole life off track. She does a pretty good job handling him.

But I would have to say one of my absolute favorite parts was when and better yet how she handled the girl that Braden was dating Holly when she went out with Ellie and they were there also and Holly asks how she can afford to live in the flat with Ellie…

“You’re living off your parent’s money? At your age?” Oh no she didn’t  I took another drink and then smiled at her in warning as if to say, ‘don’t play this game with me, sweetheart, you won’t win.’

She didn’t heed the warning. “So they pay for everything? Doesn’t that make you feel guilty?”

Every fucking day. “Was it your money that bought those Louboutin’s… or Braden’s?”

Oh at that moment I loved Joss even more! That made me laugh because it was so perfect, as well as fitting for that exact moment.

I absolutely love when I come across a book that just doesn’t let the characters beat around the bush.. they say what they think and feel I did love that about this one. And when they add in things to make you giggle as you go it makes it so enjoyable.  Like for their first time out to dinner when she finds out that it wasn’t a work thing like he made her believe…

“You try to leave, I’ll tackle you”

“Asshole”

“Just for that, I expect you to wrap that dirty mouth of yours around my cock tonight”

“Are you kidding?”

“Babe, … I never kid about blowjobs”

Hahahaha  I laughed so hard because well all I could think of was well EVERY man in the world… do they ever kid about blowjobs? It seems to be something they all take so very serious.

I enjoyed the story, I was right there with them all and like always when I enjoy a book I get pulled into it. I laughed and cried and just wanted to be there for Braden more than anything at one point. I just wanted to hold him and then beat Joss’ ass!

This one ended and I was content with the ending since it seemed to wrap everything up pretty well. Then I came across the fact that there is going to be a second book!! I will have to keep my eye on this because I cant wait to find out what it will be about…  maybe about Ellie??

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

