Review – The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen

Blurb:

Ella and Micha have been best friends since they were kids. But one tragic night shatters their friendship and their lives forever.

Ella used to be a rule-breaker with fiery attitude who wore her heart on her sleeve. But she left everything behind when she went to college and transformed into someone that follows the rules, keeps everything together, and hides all her problems. But now it’s summer break and she has nowhere else to go but home.

Ella fears everything she worked so hard to bury might resurface, especially with Micha living right next door. If Micha tries to tempt the old her back, she knows that it will be hard to resist.

Micha is sexy, smart, confident, and can get under Ella’s skin like no one else can. He knows everything about her, including her darkest secrets. And he’s determined to bring his best friend, and the girl he loves back, no matter what it takes.

My Thoughts:

I was not planing on reading this one right away because my list is SO long but a friend sent it to me as a loan on kindle so I jumped on it and read it. I am glad that I did I enjoyed it more than I had thought I would. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect because I have heard good things about it but I personally do not like to read all the reviews that people give because I like to make my own decision on if I like a book or not. Plus I absolutely LOVE a book that adds music into it.

Growing up everyone experiences different things. and there are so many things that so many of us try to forget or push down inside and never talk about because it can hurt too much or just upset you. I personally have experienced this feeling as well. so when reading in the first chapter something that struck home with me and drew me in immediately I knew this would be an enjoyable read.

“It’s whats buried deep inside that frightens me because its broken, like a shattered mirror.”

Because I have learned that if you do not learn to deal with what is being pushed deep down it can break you. so I knew right from the get go that this was going to be good and I couldn’t wait to see what happens when she breaks because well lets just face it everyone does when you try to act like everything is perfect when it isn’t. so I couldn’t get through this fast enough.  I mean Ella believes that yes life changes and so do people.. but what she doesn’t seem to understand is that yes you can change as a person but only when you can deal with traumatic experiences that have happened to a person. If she doesn’t work through it she will never be able to move on and her brother Dean tells her that and she takes it in consideration but doesn’t truly want to deal with her issues.  She is in love with Micha even if she wont admit it to herself I knew it right from the get go, and I know Micha is so far gone in love with her that it breaks my heart that they are not together because a love like that should be embraced not pushed aside. But I understand his reason for trying to take it slow because he is afraid she will run again. and my heart breaks even more when his momma tells him…

“I worry about you spending too much time chasing her. you might have to realize that maybe she doesn’t want to get caught, sweetie.”

I wanted to yell BUT SHE DOES… she just doesn’t know how to deal with it all. Oh there was a lot to love about this book. Ethan was just so much fun! I always laughed when he was around.  I can not wait for the third book. I did break down a little at one point of the book Grady just got to me. He isn’t a big part of the book but still is very important and tells her something that is one of the most valuable thing I have ever read or heard when giving her something that has been broken but he had kept to give to her at some point…

“Just because its broken doesn’t mean it loses its importance. and I figured id give it to you one day when you realized it was okay to make mistakes”

And her daddy… oh her daddy… that broke my heart into so many pieces!! I have an experience with a dealing with people you love abusing some type of substance and wanting nothing more than to help them understand that they are not only hurting themselves but they hurt those who care about them also. So that part hurt to read.

All in all it was a very good read and I enjoyed it for many more reasons than it just being a story. I have felt a bit of connection to Ella in some sense. I also LOVED the anticipation and build up between Ella and Micha. I hope that all that read this enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

