Lover at Last by J.R. Ward Teasers

13570854

I have been following J.R. Ward on facebook and she has been posting a few teasers for this one! I can not wait for this one to come out!  Here are the teasers that she has posted…

Here is the back blurb:

Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another….

Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it’s about time: The male has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young- just as Qhuinn has always wanted for himself. It’s hard to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. As he’s learned firsthand.

Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions… but as the battle over the race’s throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together… finally become one.

Teaser 1

Qhuinn followed, bringing up the rear in case anyone decided to pull a hi-how’re-ya-

From out of thin air, Blay appeared, the male suited up in leather, and as heavily armed as the rest of them. Qhuinn’s feet slowed, then stopped in the snow, mostly because he didn’t want to trip and fall like an a**hole.

God, that was one grim motherf**ker, he thought as Blay started walking forward. Was there some trouble in paradise?

Even though there was no eye contact, Qhuinn felt compelled to say something. “What’s…”

He didn’t finish the “doing” part of the sentence. Why bother? The guy just stalked past him like he wasn’t there.

“I’m great,” Qhuinn muttered under his breath as he resumed trudging through the snow. “Doin’ awesome, thanks for asking- oh, you having probs with Saxton? Really? How’d you like to go out and get a drink and talk about it? Yeah? Perfect. I’ll be your after dinner mint-”

Teaser 2

Blay leaned in, his upper lip peeling back from his fangs. “Just so we’re clear, your cousin is giving me what I need. All day long. Every day. You and me?” He motioned back and forth between them with the cigarette. “We work together. That’s it. So I want you to do us both a favor before you think I ‘need’ to know something. Ask yourself, ‘If I were flipping burgers at McDonald’s, would I be telling the f**king fry guy this?’ If the answer is no, then shut the hell up.”

Teaser 3

Straightening up so the full force of that cold blast hit him square in the face, Qhuinn glared into the rush, picturing those pines ahead that he couldn’t see because his eyes were watering from the wind. Opening his mouth, he screamed bloody murder, adding his voice to the maelstrom.
Godd*mn it, he wasn’t going down like a pussy. No ducking, no pathetic oh-please-God-no-saaaaaave-me. F**k that. He was going to meet death with his fangs bared and his body braced and his heart pounding not from fear, but from a whole boatload of . . .
“Bl** me, Grim Reaper!”

Teaser 4

In the Old Language, she hissed, “If any harm shall befall him, I will come after you, and find you where you sleep. I do not care where you lay your head or who with, my vengeance shall rain upon you until you drown.”
That last word was drawn out, until its syllable was lost in more growling.
Dead silence.
Until Doc Jane said dryly, “Annnnd this is why they say the female of the species is more dangerous than the male.”

Teaser 5

“Let me kiss you.” Qhuinn groaned as he leaned in. “I know I don’t deserve it, but please . . . it’s what you can do for me. Let me feel you. . . .”

Qhuinn’s mouth brushed his own. Came back for more. Lingered.

“I’ll beg for it.” More with the caress of those devastating lips. “If that’s what it takes. I don’t give a f**k, I’ll beg. . . .”

Somehow, that wasn’t going to be necessary.

(and yes, this is Blay’s POV, and no, this isn’t their first hook up in the book lol)

Teaser 6

The door to Blay’s room opened wide without a knock, a hello, a hey-are-you-decent.
Qhuinn stood in between the jambs, breathing hard, like he’d run down the hall of statues.
Sh**, had Layla lost the pregnancy after all?
Those mismatched eyes searched around. “You by yourself?”
Why the hell would— Oh, Saxton. Right. “Yes—”
The male took three strides forward, reached up . . . and kissed the ever-loving crap out of Blay.
The kiss was the kind that you remembered all your life, the connection forged with such totality that everything from the feel of the body against your own, to the warm slid of another’s lips on yours, to the power as well as the control, was etched into your mind…

Teaser 7

In the silence that followed, violent anger hit Blay from out of
nowhere.
Now his hands shook for a different reason.
“So,” Saxton said hoarsely. “How was your night?”
“What the hell happened down there?”
Saxton loosened his tie. Unbuttoned his collar. Took yet another
deep breath. “Family tiff, as it were.”
“Bullsh*t.”
Saxton shifted exhausted eyes over. “Must we do this?”
“What happened—”
“I think you and Qhuinn need to talk. And once you do, I won’t have to worry about being jumped like a felon again.”
Blay frowned. “He and I have nothing to say to each other—”
“With all due respect, the ligature marks around my neck would
suggest otherwise.”

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

