Review – A Beautiful Lie by T.E. Sivec

16085614Book: A Beautiful Lie

Author: T.E. Sivec

Series: Playing With Fire 1

<– *click on book cover to go to amazon link*

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Blurb:

He saw her first, but his friend made the move.

She settled for the safer choice, but her heart knew the truth.

They love, they crave, they lie.

Garrett McCarthy, Annabelle Parker, and Milo Roberts were as close as friends could get. They shared in each other’s joy during graduations, promotions, and engagements. They consoled one another through heartache and loss.

When one of the friend’s life is tragically cut short, it’s up to the two left behind to pick up the pieces and find out the truth – no matter the cost. As they slowly start to uncover the nature of his deception, and the very powerful people behind it, they begin to question everyone and everything, even themselves.

Everyone has secrets – some do it for love while others do it for power. Those secrets can change perceptions, alter reality and sometimes destroy lives.

What do you do when you find out your whole life has been a lie?

My Thoughts:

I didn’t know what to expect with this book since I absolutely loved Tara Sivecs Chocolate Lovers series. With this being a mystery/suspense/romance book, and it not being the usual type of book I read, I was a little hesitant.
But I have to say I was very impressed! I think she nailed this new genre!
It does take a bit to get into the story and at some points I sort of feel like it dragged on, but overall I thought it was great. It had a mix of suspense, love, hot steamy sex, murder all tied into a military/CIA theme.
I loved that there finally was a strong female heroine! In most books the girl is lost and broken and a man makes her whole. But Parker was a kick ass woman who could do it all on her own. Shes strong and independent, and holding a secret! (of course)
Garret is her best friend who is sexy, strong, a Navy seal, and totally in love with Parker but he’s also her fiance’s best friend so keeps his feelings to himself. He would do anything to make her happy and keep her safe. And that definitely gets tested throughout this book.
Milo is Garrets best friend since childhood and Parkers finance, and boy are there lots of twists and turns with him! Tons of secrets and lies as they try to uncover what lead to his death while on a secret mission in the Dominican.
Overall this was a must read! I couldn’t put it down and ended up finishing it in two days. I’ve heard that there are 4 books in the series all about different Navy Seals on their team. This was a great start to the series and I will definitely be waiting for the next!

Favorite Highlights:

“If you were mine, I would never be able to walk away from you.  If you were mine, I’d worship every inch of your body with my hands, lips, and tongue.  If you were mine, I wouldn’t be able to stand in the same room as you without running my hands over your skin and tasting your lips.  If you were mine…”
“I’m not scared because I can’t give you my love in return,” she told him softly.  “I’m scared because I love you so much sometimes it’s hard to breathe.”

Nikki

5 stars

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

