Review ~ Forty Shades of Pearl by Arianne Richmonde

17183712

*click on cover to go to amazon link*

Book: Forty Shades of Pearl

Author: Arianne Richmonde

Series: The Pearl Trilogy #1

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

~Blurb~

Documentary producer, Pearl Robinson, is a beautiful and smart forty year-old divorcee but has not had a date for over two years. When she hears about Alexandre Chevalier, a young French, Internet success story, she assumes he is a nerd. But when she bumps into him face to face she’s stunned by his charm, beauty and sophistication, and startled by her strong feelings and desire for a man fifteen years her junior. His looks, wealth and worldwide triumph with his social media site, HookedUp, means he can get any woman he chooses, but there is something about Pearl he finds irresistible… The couple begins a passionate affair and Pearl’s body is awakened in ways she never imagined possible. She is consumed by him and his magical touch. But secrets, jealous family members and other external forces are threatening to pull them apart. Erotic, humorous, and profoundly tender, Forty Shades of Pearl is a story that will stir your heart, rouse your emotions and touch your soul.

~Our Thoughts~

This I had heard that this one was a good one and that there is a HUGE cliff hanger in book 2 so I am glad that I will be able to read right through from book 2 to 3. 🙂

I did enjoy this book I like that it is about an older lady not a young 20 something girl not sure of what she is going to do with her life, still trying to find herself.

Let me start off by saying that even though you immediately think of that one book that has become so popular, with the title being similar and all. But this book to me was a nice twist yes he is rich yes he is dominant in the bedroom and in his life, BUT he is not into the tie her up and spank her kind of stuff. He is younger than her which is a nice twist as well. There is quite a bit that happens that will have you wanting to yell at her because she is just going about things all wrong. Then there are times you want to just slap him for being too proud at times.

I will have to admit the whole cougar thing I didn’t quite understand at first I thought okay is this going to be weird, am I going to get grossed out, am I going to even like it? The answers are not weird at all I forgot that there was an age difference because he just seemed so mature for his age, I not once got grossed put during the hotter scenes, and yes I liked it a lot. I think that many compare it to fifty shades and that mainly being the play off the similar titles but if you go into this one thinking it is going to be just like fifty just by a different author you will not enjoy it. The similarities (which have been written for YEARS, long before fifty came around) is a rich guy looking getting with a woman he is all alpha and dominant in every aspect in his life (minus the whips and chains and all). There are things that happen that do throw in some angst and makes you want to yell out “I told you”.

I completely enjoyed everything about this story from the start the only issue that I had were some of the word choices for her “cookie” if you will. The author didn’t use the more as some would say “vulgar” terms but came up with something else all together. And that is the only thing that threw me off from time to time as I read I wanted to laugh every time I read it. I know that to each their own but for me that was something I had no issue looking past it because I liked the story. The names she used (Venus, pearlett, oyster) I don’t remember if there are more but those were the ones that stuck with me it still makes me giggle. Like I said it was the one thing that did make me stop and say “umm okay I never heard of it called that before” or “okay I saw that one coming”.

I heard that the second book has a big cliffhanger at the end so on to book 2 now! I usually like the second ones better in a trilogy since there seems to be so much that happens in them. *rubbing hands together* I can’t wait to see what our little Pearl gets into next!

Brandy

4 stars

First off, I had seen this title and had held off thinking it was going to be a copy of 50 shades of grey. I was wrong! It was totally different, and I really enjoyed it.
Pearl is a woman in her forties who has a successful job, is divorced, and whos never felt satisfied in her sexual relationships. Until she meets Alexandre a 25-year-old French entrepreneur who she’s trying to get an interview with for her documentaries.She ends up running into him (unknowingly) in a coffee shop. They start dating, and he treats her like a woman should be treated! She worries about their age difference, but he assures her it doesn’t matter. Hes definitley mature for his age, and wise beyond his 25 years.
The sex scenes in this book are very hot and well done. He proves to her that she is capable of having orgasams (multiple even) when she thought it was impossible. The fireman scene is my favorite I think!
I love how descriptive the book is about the scenery and smells, especially when describing places they visit like France. I’ve never been, but I could just see and smell everything she was talking about. It made me feel like I was there with them, and I liked that a lot.
I was a little put off by the names she calls her vagina, like V-8, Venus, Pearlette, but that’s my only problem with it. The ending lets us know there will be more to their story, and I am looking forward to it. I cant wait to see where the next books take them!

Nikki

5 stars

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

