Review ~ Star Crossed by Kele Moon

Cover_StarCrossed

*click on cover photo for amazon link*

Book:  Star Crossed

Author: Kele Moon

Series: Battered Hearts #2

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

~Blurb~

Heavyweight MMA fighter, Romeo Wellings comes from the hard streets of New York where his family ties to the mafia cause him nothing but pain. His life takes a surprising detour when he crosses paths with the twin sister of his long time enemy. After a steamy one-night stand, he faces the fight of his life, but it’s not in the cage. The secret relationship that blooms between Romeo and his real life Juliet has him battling his family and a dark past rather than let her go.

The only lawyer in her hometown of Garnet, Jules Conner is also a volunteer Sheriff’s deputy and co-owner of a successful MMA training center. Strong and dependable, Jules is always there for those who need her. Until one forbidden night in Las Vegas with Romeo leaves her feeling so alive she can’t stop reaching out to the sexy, bad boy of MMA, even knowing the forbidden love affair could jeopardize everything.

As the tide rises against them and the people they love work at keeping them apart, Romeo and Jules hold onto a dream for a better life together and vow to go down fighting rather than accept a tragic ending.

~Thoughts~

I would have to say that the first one in this series was not my favorite it was okay but I was excited to get to this one because I liked the taboo issue with Romeo being a bad guy who Wayatt says is a criminal and I just knew they would end up together because well come on it is Romeo and Juliette! 🙂 I also LOVE that his brothers are Casanova and Valentino. I did like the relationship between the two of them even if it had to be secret. I have to say that it was a tad predictable but at the same time with the main characters named Romeo and Juliet you kind of have an idea how it will be. 🙂 But there are many twists and turns along the way. I loved Wyatt from the get go. So the banter between him and his sister Jules cracked me up.

“Just ’cause you’re a pig, don’t mean he is.”

“By definition all men are pigs, and I believe you know that.” Wyatt shrugged dismissively

We also meet along with Romeo and his brothers Chuito. He also cracked me up when he was talking to Jules. There was quite a bit of good banter mixed in this book! That is one thing that I do enjoy when reading. When I found out that he will be getting his own book I have to say that made me happy because I was wanting more about him when I was reading. So that made me happy!

“I was joking, but now you got me scared. You’re not really after me are you?”

Jules rolled her eyes. “No.”

“Thank God. That’d be like doing it with my mother.”

There were many moments in this one that had me crying. I absolutely love the relationship between Romeo and his brothers there is so much love, devotion to one another. Their bond is so strong it is heart wrenching at times.  Tino cracked me up on more than one occasion. So finding out that Mrs. Kele Moon will also be giving Tino and Nova their own books I was super excited!

Okay now enough about the other characters 🙂 Jules is a kick ass take care of business doesn’t need a man to protect her type of girl and I loved her instantly! She is very different from the normal girls in the books I have read she stands on her own can beat you down if you cross her, she also can handle a gun or two.

Romeo is ever the gentleman, but man can you say hot in the sack!? YES that he is. There were some pretty steamy sex scenes and I approve. There is no BDSM I will have to say that when I read the first book I thought that it would be along the same lines of her Eden books, and maybe that was why it was not my absolute favorite but that was my fault for not reading the blurb. I usually like to be surprised so I don’t read them. If I get a recommendation or come across an author that I enjoy their writing I will pick up others that are by them if they have them. After reading the first I knew that I wanted Jules story and I want Wayatt’s. Now getting Tino, Chuito and Nova is just an added bonus. 🙂 I will read them as they come that is for sure! 🙂

Okay and though I am not a huge fan of the covers because well the characters to me look nothing like the people they show on them, and sometimes that kind of takes away from it for me. Yes I am one of those people. 🙂

So out of some of the pictures that I have gone through some I found on another blog that had posted pictures of their Romeo and I had to say yeah I agree. The one that I am sure of was Jules. So here would be my pick, and a pick from another blog that I have to agree with.

julesJules


romeo 2 Star crossedRomeo

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

