Blog Tour ~ Just the Messenger by Ninette Swann – (review & interview)

17558801

Book: Just the Messenger

Author: Ninette Swann

Purchase: Amazon ~ B&N ~ All Romance Ebooks ~ No Boundaries Press

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

~Blurb~

When Graciela Merced fumbles a package she’s delivering for her mysterious and sexy boss, Gene Hardy, she finds out he’s more than just a wealthy photographer. Prepared to lose her job, she confronts him…and ends up embroiled in the tricky takedown of a powerful drug cartel pushing cocaine into the heart of New York City.

Marco Valencia is an undercover agent, working against time—and against Gene Hardy—to crack Angel’s Drug Cartel before the story makes it to the press. When Hardy’s luscious Venezuelan messenger literally falls at his feet, he has no idea just how well he’ll get to know the beauty or how difficult it will be to drop her.

Hardened by experience, Gene Hardy takes his undercover work seriously, and charges a hefty price. When Grace makes a careless mistake and hurls him back into the visage of Marco Valencia, he must either fire her, or involve her in a twisted plot that could kill them all.
As the two men battle over their feelings for Graciela—and their attraction to each other—one thing becomes perfectly clear.

Grace is much more than just the messenger.

~Thoughts~

This was a pretty fast read. I usually don’t care for short stories because I am usually left wanting more. This one I have to say I was left wondering more about the back story then wanting more after the end.

I will say that if you are in the mood for a hot and steamy read and are okay with menage this is a good one! I absolutely loved the connection between Gene and Marco. I never thought I would enjoy reading M/M as much as I have, and this was right up my alley. I love a good menage M/M/F. It doesnt beat too much around the bush so know that it will get to the hotness pretty fast and that is always the best part about short stories. 🙂

~Interview with Warren Bell~

Walking into a bar I spot Warren sitting at a booth. I smile and walk over to where he is sitting. He stands as I get closer. I reach out my hand and introduce myself.

B ~ Hi I’m Brandy, I am here to do a little interview with you Mr. Bell. Thank you for meeting up with me.

W ~ The pleasure is all mine. It’s rare I’m interviewed by such a…charming woman as yourself.

The waiter comes over and asks if we would like anything to drink or eat. I say no thank you but he insists on ordering me a drink.

B ~ Well I can’t have to many drinks, but thank you one will be nice. It has been a long week. Okay so lets get started then. I understand that you are a reporter, but why would you intentionally put yourself in harm’s way for a story?

W ~ Most people would say I do it for the glory. And I do love seeing my name and face in your living room, of course. But that’s not entirely it. Beneath this schmoozy exterior, I actually care very deeply about disseminating information to those who wouldn’t otherwise have it available. There are wrongs to be righted, there are bad guys to fell. If I can do that while implanting my image on the minds of our viewers, well, what’s the fault in that?

B ~ I mean I know that having Marco along would make me feel much better. Nice eye candy along with muscle. 😉 Did having him with you make you feel more safe?

W ~ Hahahaha. I’m sorry. I don’t mean to laugh, but if anything, I helped Marco. He’s all sour-puss, and rules-this and regulation-that, and safety first. I didn’t get to be the star reporter of the biggest news junket in New York City by playing it safe. That said, I didn’t mind him playing nursemaid for a while, and his knowledge of the country was actually helpful. Plus, he got some action, I got some action. We all won, really.

B ~ Why the hell would you go to Colombia? You had to know that things were not going to go well.

W ~ You have to go where the story is. It’s not going to come to you. And if you’re not the guy figuring this stuff out, no one will. No one gets a scoop by sitting in their New York apartment sipping martinis. No. It’s after you break your balls to get the information that you get to relax with lovely interviewers such as yourself and drink a little and laugh a little. Any reporter worth his salt has a feeling of invincibility within him. If we weren’t born with that, we’d never make it in this racket.

The waiter returns with two more drinks. I tell Warren he can have mine because I have to drive home. He tells me he will get me cab if I need it or he can personally drive me home, he reaches over and runs his fingers over my hand. I can’t help but smile at him, he is very charming.

B ~ You Mr. Bell know how to lay it on pretty thick. Talk about getting a woman to tingle all over *I giggle* All you have to do is smile. Use that to your advantage much?

W ~ Only for you. You’ve really impressed me here, and I’d like to talk later about an after-hours interview at my place. I think you’d really enjoy yourself.

I am sure something can be arranged. I am tryin to keep it together and not let him know he is getting to me.

B ~ So when you were in Colombia you seemed to work the waitress pretty well, like I said you know how to get to a woman…So what did you have to promise her to get the information that you ended up getting? I mean I can only assume that she is who went to see you. 🙂

W ~ Promise her something? I didn’t promise her a thing, darling. I fulfilled. That is what I do. These people, anyone really, they don’t know they’re on the wrong side until you tell them. Or they do know and they’re held there by fear. They feel alone, scared. By leading them to do the right thing—that being giving you the story, of course—you’re really helping them, too. Because they don’t feel so alone. And maybe, after the night is over, they go out and make a difference in someone else’s life. That’s what news is all about. That’s what love is all about. That’s what I’m all about.

B ~ So I would have to say that there were times I had to agree with Marco you did seem to act as if you walked on water. At what point did you decide in your career that going balls to the wall is the way to go?

W ~ In news, it’s use it or lose it. Someone always wants your job, they always want your spot, your money, your glory. You’re not going to be able to compete all meek and how’s-your-grandma. No one cares. Not one person gives a damn about your feelings of insufficiency. No. People need a leader. They need someone to take charge, and to tell them what to do and why and when. And if you can do it with charm, with pizazz, you can really make an impression on someone. Because I don’t boss people around for funsies. I truly love everybody, and I want the best for them. Which in a way does make me like Jesus, doesn’t it? But I’ve not yet mastered walking on water…maybe you could help me practice in my Jacuzzi?

This guy! He is so damn forward and I got to say I kinda like it!

B ~ Why in the hell would you continue to report a story when your life was in danger? I swear you are crazy!

W ~ Because if I didn’t report it, who would? And the video! The nat sound! That piece will win me an Emmy in local news, you watch. No guts, no glory.

B ~ I would have to say over all I determined that those baby blues seem to get you what you want, and you are willing to risk just about anything for a story. I would have to say you seem to be an adrenaline junkie. If you could do it all over would there be anything that you would do differently?

W ~ You know, I’d have worked more closely with Gene Hardy from the beginning. That man seemed like a slime to me so I kept my distance, but really, he has a great business head on his shoulders, and he’s got the balls to make it in this business. If I hadn’t been around, I could have trusted him to take over the ship. He’s as cocky as me, and almost as smart. The two of us would have been unstoppable.

B ~ Thank you so much for taking the time to meet with me, since I have not had anything to eat yet and yes I had only two drinks but I know I am in no position to drive. Can I take you up on your offer? Can I get a ride? *trying not to smile*

W ~ I thought you would never ask. You’re going to love my ride, sweetheart. Here, rest your head on my shoulder as we walk. You’ll feel steadier.

Oh I have a feeling tonight will be fun! 😉

 

~Author Bio~

Ninette Swann is a journalist turned novelist who writes her books from sunny Florida in between parenting, freelancing and editing. She writes all genre of romance, including contemporary, thriller, suspense, and dystopian. Her books include Hit and Stay, Body Combat, Finding Home, Just the Messenger and Direct Combat.

~Follow her on~

Blog ~ Goodreads ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

~Giveaway~

Author Ninette Swann is giving away 3 copies of Just the Messenger also a $25 gift card to Amazon.

Enter –> HERE

book tour badge

~Blog Tour Schedule~

April 1st:

Momma’s Books

April 2nd:

Author Ellie Potts

Book Bitches Blog

April 3rd:

Riverina Romantics

April 4th:

Italian Book Brat

April 5th:

Lori’s Book Blog

April 8th:

Three Wicked Writers

April 9th:

Mrs. Condit Reads Books

Rednecks and Romance

April 10th:

Tattooed Book Review

April 11th:

n3m3sis42

April 12th:

My Reading is Addiction

April 15th:

Riverina Romantics

April 16th:

Storey Book Reviews

After Dark Online

April 17th:

Storey Book Reviews

Bookworm Brandee

April 18th:

Cocktails and Books

Bookworm Brandee

Talk Supe

April 19th:

Read Your Writes

Hear Romances With a Little Kick

My Book Addiction and More

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

5 responses to “Blog Tour ~ Just the Messenger by Ninette Swann – (review & interview)

Tell me what cha think

