Review ~ Drowning in You by Rebecca Berto

17206928

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Book: Drowning in You

Author: Rebecca Berto

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

~Blurb~

Secretly crushing

Crushed by a tragedy

Charlee May’s been crushing on Dexter Hollingworth since she was fifteen. Five years later, a horrific skiing disaster at Mason’s Ski Lift Resort leaves her millionaire dad critically injured and her mom dead at the hands of Dexter operating the lifts. Charlee is suddenly the sole caretaker for her little brother while their world falls apart.

Dexter couldn’t be more different from Charlee. He’s tattooed, avoids exclusive relationships and his Dad has a fair share of illegal dealings. With Dexter’s reputation, almost everyone believes he planned the Mason’s skiing disaster.

And after all these years he’s still crushing on Charlee May, the girl who’s too good for him.

When this cruel twist of fate ties Charlee’s family and Dexter’s reputation together, Charlee and Dexter wonder if their feelings are reciprocated, while Dexter discovers his dad is trying to steal the May’s millionaire fortune.

But like an addiction, one look, one touch, one taste—they’re hooked no matter the consequences.

Disclaimer: Recommended for mature readers due to sexual content and crude language.

~Review~

I was lucky to get an early copy of this one and have to say that I enjoyed it very much. It is the first book that I have read that is based in Australia. To be honest there were not many differences so that was good. I have read some that are based in London and the talk is so different it makes me laugh the entire time I am reading and this one was not that. I was very surprised at the twist this one had versus what I have been reading lately. I have been on a NA, Erotic kick and usually it is the bad boy and good girl, and this had that but it was not the normal.

I had caught myself a few times calling out to the characters telling them “don’t do it” or “just tell her damn it!” I enjoyed this read it had a few twists that were very good! It is heart wrenching as well. I love how it ended as well!

Usually I am left wanting more or yelling out NOOOOO when it ends. This was a nice change! I was completely happy with the ending, and I felt completely satisfied with it. I am not sure if there will be more for their story or not but if so GREAT, if not then I am okay with that because of the ending we are left with.

Don’t get me wrong I do enjoy torturing myself with cliff hangers but it was nice to have a nice completed ending and not left questioning so many things.

I enjoyed the relationships and watching how they grew and developed. I LOVE the relationship between Charlee and her little brother also. I am a big sister so I enjoyed reading the way they went back and forth, reminded me a lot of my brother and me.

Overall it was a good read, it did have parts that I had thought were a tad predictable but at the same time there would be a twist and then I would think okay… not what I had thought.  I did get a little annoyed with Charlee though. That mainly is because she blames Dexter for the death of her mother and her father being in the hospital. I would absolutely loath the person if I thought for an instant that the person was 100% responsible. Which lead me to believe right from the get go that there was more to the story. Plus how can you totally blame someone for an ACCIDENT. I mean yes there may have been some responsibility on that one person but are they solely to blame? That was a fight with-in me I was having. I was going back and forth with, do I like him do I not?

So if this was the plan from the get go, well played Rebecca, well played 🙂

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

