Review ~ Still by Ann Mayburn

17558802

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Book: Still

Author: Ann Mayburn

Series: Long Slow Tease #1

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

~Blurb~

Dr. Michelle Sapphire and Gunnery Sargent Wyatt Callahan formed an unbreakable bond and an unacknowledged, forbidden attraction to each other while serving together in Afghanistan. Their lives are forever changed when a mortar attack grievously wounds Wyatt and Michelle brings him back from the brink of death. But when they both return to the civilian world, Michelle discovers that her rock-solid Marine is suffering from severe PTSD and may even be suicidal.

Wyatt Callahan fell hard for the aristocratic blonde doctor the moment he laid eyes on her. After reentering civilian life in his hometown near Austin, Texas, Wyatt is plagued by nightmares of the death and suffering he witnessed during the war. He’d love to reach out to Michelle, but — Michelle is a Dominatrix, and she has made it very clear to Wyatt she isn’t interested in a relationship with anyone who doesn’t accept her lifestyle. An Alpha male to the core, he can’t imagine the appeal of being submissive. At the same time, the idea of serving Michelle, of being everything she wants and needs, rings true in his wounded soul.

Michelle has dark secrets of her own, and together with Wyatt she will have to battle her personal demons during their emotional journey of healing, redemption, and love.

~Thoughts~

This one was good!! I have a special place in my heart for any book that is military based and when the hero is a Marine forget it! My husband was in the Marine Corps for 8 years and when they are dead on with the way the guys talk it makes me smile! 🙂

I loved it right from the get go! I wanted more and more and more! This is the first book that I read that is femdom that was longer than a short story. I have not read many of them. I am glad I was able to read this one because it does a GREAT job of explaining why women like to take on that role. It wasn’t too extreme and I loved that about it. The other one that I had read didn’t get much into the back story of the woman,or the couple,but this one did. I liked seeing how she was before they got into that role with each other and seeing him fight everything in him to submit, well that was just fun!

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this one so I was thinking that maybe it would be more along the lines of a  ‘hard’ type of read. One that I would love either way but still a dominatrix who would be as hard on her sub as some of the book I have read with the Dom on his sub.  I was pleasantly surprised when we got to see the softer side of Michelle though. I enjoyed seeing the two sides to her, and him as well. He hit it on the nail when he was talking about how he would NOT be her submissive out in public, if he would have been okay with that I would have automatically disliked it. I could not see him being submissive outside of play. The way Wyatt was portrayed from the get go was not a submissive. I got to the ending way too fast. It wasn’t a long read only about 135 pages or so and so it didn’t take long to get through it, but when I got to the ending I didn’t want it to be over. I wanted more. I was happy to read at the ending she put an excerpt in for book 2. I will be reading the next one for sure.

It is funny that in all of it one of the things I couldn’t wait to read more about was the dogs. lol I wanted to know what happened with them. That for some reason was some of the best parts for me. It is a small part but I enjoyed it very much. I am not sure what drew me to that part. Maybe because I LOVE dogs specially protective ones. So that was fun for me.

This book had it all for me it wasn’t too over the top because I am a huge fan of Dom/Sub reads and mostly read male dom female sub. But I liked that I didn’t feel as if it was not realistic for me. I know that there are people who live the lifestyle that are more ‘hardcore’ into it and I have read some that have that aspect. But since this was only the second one I have read with a domme I will say that I look forward to reading more of these types of books. There was a more emotional aspect to it and I loved that, too. Usually it is the sub that shows more emotion than the dom/domme so like I had said I enjoyed seeing her as more of a girl than a domme at some points in the book.

Can’t wait for the next one to come out! 🙂

~Favorite quotes~

“Callahan, right now you’re not dragging that cross, you’re nailed to it.”

“She liked a man with some steel in his spine, a warrior who would bow to no on but her.”

“You give a man one good, toe-curling, I-rocked-your-fucking-world blow job and he’ll never leave you.”

“Sometimes I even like a man to take charge, but very rarely. I don’t fit into any category and I don’t want to. I am who I am and I refuse to be unhappy because people don’t like things they can’t understand. I’m not weird or a freak and I can make regular vanilla love and enjoy the hell out of it with the right man.”

“Because I could save someone else’s Owen.”

~Brandy~

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

2 responses to “Review ~ Still by Ann Mayburn

  • Ann

    The fact that you’re a military wife and you like it tickles me absolutely pink. 🙂 Thank you for such a wonderful review, and thank you for backing me up that Marines use the word fuck like the smurfs used smurf. 😉

    Ann

    • Momma's Books

      hahaha absolutely! It is funny because people will be around our oldest son and curse and automatically apologize. My husband and I laugh because well he has heard it all he has heard more foul language growing up on base surrounded by ‘jarheads’. They are foul mouthed that is for sure but makes you love them even more! 🙂

Tell me what cha think

