Review ~ Lover at Last by J.R. Ward

13570854

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Book: Lover at Last

Author: J.R. Ward

Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood #11

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

~Blurb~

Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another….

Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it’s about time: The male has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young—just as Qhuinn has always wanted for himself. It’s hard to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. As he’s learned firsthand.

Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions… but as the battle over the race’s throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together… finally become one.

~Thoughts~

I like everyone else who is addicted to this series have been waiting for this story for SO very long! I could not wait for it. The day I found out it was coming out I was beyond ecstatic! Once the day came I coudn’t get to it fast enough! 🙂

I swear I don’t remember her other books (well Torh’s I remember the best and his was this way too) being so all over the place. We get Xcore, which well if you have read Torh’s book you will understand that he was going to be in this one. Then you get Iam and Trez which don’t get me wrong I do like them but we don’t know a lot about them other than what we learned in Rhev’s book.  Then there was Assail, don’t get me wrong I cannot wait for that man to actually have sex because he seems like he is a bit on the Dom side 😉 yes I was drawn into the side stories and I understand that she is setting things up for the other stories. I just wanted as much Blay and Qhuinn as I could get. I know that a lot of people would complain about that as well. It wasn’t confusing in any way for me because she ends the chapters before she goes on to another sub story I guess you could say.

Okay so the sex…WOW. I am not one of those people who have an issue with reading m/m anything. The build up was so good! Lets all face it, if there were no sex in this one I (along with many) would have been pissed! lol OKAY but I do have ONE question…Where was the LUBE!!? lol I mean I know they are vamps but I was expecting lube, hell or in the heat of the moment and not having it just spit. But still…I would assume that would be one manner they are like humans lol. There are not many moments with the brothers there are a few but I did miss getting a little more interaction between them all. Also I really missed Lassiter in this one. I have come to look forward to his smart ass mouth in all the books and this one he has such a small part. So I did feel like I missed him.

Okay, anyone who follows JR on her fb page knows she absolutely loves Channing Tatum and I was dying when I saw that she worked him into the story…

The sniffing stopped and the Fore-lesser looked up from the People magazine he’d made the lines on. Beneath the residue, some dude named Channing Tatum was staring at the camera, all hot as fuck.

Okay so there were a few different moments that had me crying. One being well the reason that Wrath has Saxton re-writing the laws. We find out about this in Torhs book. And let me tell you when the reason comes into play…I cried like a dork. The moment between Blay and his mom, and well Qhuinn and Blay of course. They have been waiting for this moment for so long! Hell we ALL have. 🙂

I have been in love with you for years and years and years…throughout school and training…before transitions and afterward…

We get more Layla also. We get to see her more as a female and not a chosen. That was fun to see her get angry. That was a complete first and made me smile. Woohoo finally!!!

If any harm shall befall him, I will come after you, and find you where you sleep. I do not care where you lay your head or who with, my vengeance shall rain upon you until you drown.

Okay so the very last sentence…a few friends from a book group I am in have talked about it and we agree it was beyond cheesy and we think she could have ended it better than that. I mean if she was never planning on writing about them again then I could look past the cheesyness of it but I know this is not the last we have seen of them so I am trying to understand why she chose that as the last sentence. haha and maybe it is just me but yeah, wanted it to end kind of like how Torh’s did. Gasping with an OMG moment, having an idea of what will come next.

I would have to say that  when it all went down between Qhuinn and Blay, well I was not a big fan of where it happened. I mean the place they finally actually TALKED. I just was not a big fan. I am sure there will be some that agree with me but some that may not. I had thought okay they are going to go and dematerialize somewhere they could be alone to talk.

Overall I loved it I am looking forward to the next. Which I have found out is going to be about Wrath and Beth. I am so excited to get more of the brothers. I was just telling a friend that it was so long ago and so much has happened. When I found out that JR is talking about doing a book about each couple to give us more of them it made me happy. I know for me Torh and Autumn’s story seemed to not feel finished so to know that she will possibly be adding more for them along with the others is so exciting! I love most of the couples. Marissa is not one of my favorites but I love Butch so I can look past that same goes for Doc Jane. But when it comes to Phury, well I just didn’t care for his book so all I can do is hope that if she does another for each couple that Phury’s draws me in this time around. Yes I know that there are a lot of things that have not been talked about like Iam and Trez. Also Assail and Manny. We just keep getting more and more to add to this series and I am glad to know it isn’t ending any time soon. This is one series that I have become completely obsessed with and love so very much!

Qhuinn

Qhuinn

Saxton

Saxton

Okay so for those who are curious… here is some of the stuff discussed at her signing in Cincinanti.

***DO NOT CONTINUE IF YOU HAVE NOT READ UP TO THIS POINT IN THE SERIES THERE ARE SOME SPOILERS***

*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Next book is about Wrath and Beth and is called the King – it will be about him having and heir…

We will see more of Murdher but it involves Xhex… more when the timing is right

Saxton – Big keep reading!

Rhage and Mary’s novella. JR is about 146 pages in, just has to finish it.

Lassiter will get a book when he’s ready – he opens up a whole storyline and she’s not sure whether he’ll feature in BDB or Fallen Angels (she didn’t not say both 😉 )

Movies? She’s focused on the books but would only happen with someone who could do the books justice.

She doesn’t know how Layla’s pregnancy will go – a KEEP READING

Beth’s pregnancy may be more in line with humans given she’s a half breed

Lash WILL be back, she just doesn’t know when – EEP!!

Is there a connection between Michael (Story of Son) and Murdher – answer “Duh!” but doesn’t know if it will be “seen” in a book.

Sola isn’t related to Manny and Butch. She is 100% human

How will it work with Qhuinn and Blay, Layla, Xcor and the baby – KEEEEEP REEEADING!!

Did the SV create the Shadows – they are a subspecies that developed

Assail – Warden thinks he’s awesome, she’s obsessed with him and his cousins are totally effin HOT!!

There is a nexus with the Fallen Angels battle for good and the development of the BDB plotline – she thinks it could go either way but a crossover is logical

There wasn’t anything else (or anyone else) in the barrels with Luchas

Qhuinn and Luchas return to their parent’s house, Qhuinn sees Luchas as a victim and we’ll see more of Luchas

Will we find out more about the glymera female who had an orgy with the Bastards – yes! —>She also fed Assail. 

Why didn’t we get Ehric’s twin’s name – because she writes what she sees and doesn’t know it yet

Will Nalla have a book so we can see lose his sh!t? She doesn’t know

Will Xcor turn on the Bastards for Layla – KEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP REEEEEEEEEEEADING!!!

Will we find out about Butch and Manny’s father and if there are more kids – KEEEEEEEEEEEEEP REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEADING!!

Layla is considered Fallen (Chosen, not angel 😉 )

Will Butch be in another book? Yes, and we’ll see some closure for him and José

Are they going to expand the rules for brotherhood inductions? Yes and Blay, Payne and Xhex could be inducted in future

Were there a lot of edits for the Blay and Qhuinn sex scenes? – There was nothing edited out.

Payne can help heal the Brothers of injuries etc but she doesn’t know if Payne’s gift is with limits or has to be replenished but she WILL keep George alive (as in longer than reg dogs 😉 )

No definite plans for a second Insiders’ Guide buuuuuuuut maybe in the future

Will the SV be in The King? She doesn’t know but something will need to be done with her.

Wrath still owes the SV that favor…

There WILL be more about Jane and V – she’s also talking to her publisher about revisiting each couple in full book form.

Do we know who Elan was talking to? Yes SAXTON’S FATHER!!!!! He is who ended up talking to Xcore and told him about the laws.

Will any major character die? KEEEEEEEEEEEEP REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEADING!!!

Both Blay and Qhuinn release bonding scents

Is Saxton working on the full blooded heir law? Not yet

Are Tohr and Xcor brothers? Not saying a thing…

Will there be two males bonded to one female – again she ain’t talking

Are Throe’s family alive and will they be in the books? KEEEEEEEEEEEEEP REEEEEEEEEEEEEEADING!!!!

Will Fritz get a story – she doesn’t think he can be developed into a story.

Will Havers ever be redeemed and have a story? NO!!!

Will Havers be in The King and deliver Wrath and Beth’s baby – KEEP READING (but over the WARDen’s dead body!!!)

Is Xhex living in the mansion with John Matthew? Yep, they have worked through their issues 😀

Will we see Layla’s baby soon? Yes.

Do we know about the coffins in the garage? Not yet but she *thinks* it may come up in The King

Is Phury going to do better by the Chosen? KEEEEEEEEEEEEEP REEEEEEEEEEEEEADING!!

I got this ^^^^^^ from her facebook page…

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

