Review ~ Love Lost by Love Belvin

17913556

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title:  Love Lost

Author: Love Belvin

Series: Love’s Imporobably Possibility #1

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

You ever wonder what events led up to an individual’s inability to trust? Love Lost starts off by peeling back layers of a young girl who experienced the loss of essential, reliable and nurturing love.

Rayna Brimm, hailing from an inner-city in New Jersey, survives a series of betrayal and loss only to forge forward in self-preservation and obtain an education in North Carolina. After receiving her degree, vowing never return home, she finds herself in California where she tries to build a self-contained life. She made a personal declaration to get through life without further dependence on others in order to avoid yet another heartbreak. Only, fate said otherwise.

Enter Azmir Jacobs, a tall, dark, handsome and very wealthy man, who has street credibility and executive power in the corporate world. Azmir has money, power and beautiful women at his beckon call, BUT only one woman has caught his eye. The resilient Rayna Brimm, a woman whose dysfunctional upbringing contributes towards her tough skin, issues with trust and a deep-seated fear to love, turns out to be more than he bargained for when he discovered her in his boardroom presenting a leasing proposal.

Rayna isn’t the only one with a checkered past. Can Azmir conceal his convoluted life long enough to prove that he can provide Rayna the stable and reliable love that she clearly needs and deserves? Or will his lofty lifestyle and endless resources scare her away?

Just when you thought you’d begun the read of an urban novel, you turn the pages and find this is by no means an urban novel, but the journey of a classic love tale and a story of redemption instead. The Love’s Improbable Possibility series is a slow weaving journey of love. Be prepared to progress into the world of Rayna Brimm. A story of love’s redemption.

Review

What to say…when I was asked if I would read this and give an honest review I said sure. I had just finished a book and couldn’t pick what to start next (yes I am like many of you I have probably thousands of books on my TBR list) but I didn’t have to decide since it was decided for me. It always makes things easier for me when I just finish a book and can’t decide what to start next just to have an author ask me to review their book. I said sure and jumped right in.

This is the very first book that I have read that has the majority of the cast characters African-American. I loved the urban feel to the story. It was something I could relate to as well as enjoy!

I grew up in the “ghetto” of my town. The majority of the people who lived in my apartment complex were African-American. So when reading this I found myself laughing at so many different things. How real it felt, and how true to form she made these characters. There is so much to love about this book.

It starts off by telling you about Rayna’s homelife when she is in her senior year of school. We see how bad she just wants out of the projects. The author doesn’t spend a lot of time with her there in the projects but I know I want her out so bad!

She gets out and is bettering herself, goes to college and wants more than what she had back in the projects. Her best friend Michelle is the best thing for her. She is there for her and also does everything she can to help her in anyway possible.  She gets a job working with Michelle. Well not really ‘with’ her but more as an assistant out in California at the physical therapist’s office Michelle works at.

She meets Azmir, I actually love the moment of recognition! 🙂 Things with them spark they both feel it and she is hesitant and totally understandable. He is the wealthy man who is very attractive and women throw themselves at him often. She is tired of games and men tellin lies.  We don’t find out exactly who and what Azmir is all about till later in the book. We also get to watch him try to woo her.

I have seen someone rate this story as Fifty meets Gideon with Thug Life mixed in.

I have to agree. BUT if you are looking for the kinky sex, that is not in here, we do get sex, good sex but not the kinky bdsm kinda sex.

The Christian and Gideon analogy for me would be more for the wealth, broken past, possessiveness, and dominating personality. I just wanted to clear that up before anyone jumps into this expecting something they may not feel they received when they finish.

I loved this and maybe I liked it more than some because I could relate on different levels. Growing up in the ‘ghetto’ I had to keep a certain way about me to deal with the other females as well as the guys. I had to stand strong and not ever take crap from people. If you did just lay down and let people walk all over you, well you were done for. So I could connect with Rayna on that level.
This story kept my attention and made me want more. I was left wanting to know what is going to happen and when the truth about everything would surface. I will be reading this entire series and looking forward to the next book to come out.

I know some people will find the words she used for some body parts funny but well it wasn’t so over the top that I had to put it down.   “pearl, love canal, strongman…” lol I have read worse words used.

~favorites~

coochie creaming smile”

“I can smell you.” Abrubptly, I rise from his lap preparing to withdraw. He tightened the grip on my hips… “Don’t worry, it’s not offensive. In fact, to the contrary, it’s intoxicating…the bets sexual aroma I’ve ever experienced.”

“I can tell you’re not in it for this shit and I’ve always wanted a woman who I can…woo. You  make me want to woo you, Rayna.”

“I learned at a very young age to pick from the top of the tree of friends. Never pick at eye level or below you’ll never grow that way.”

“I wasn’t accustomed to friendliness from other females and therefore would always come across guarded just in case. Where I was from girls had ulterior motives for wanting to be friendly…”

Brandy

 

Here are “SOME” of the characters… still workin on finding more of them.

[slideshow]

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

