Reveiw ~ Captive in the Dark by C.J. Roberts

12513614

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Captive in the Dark

Author: CJ Roberts

Series: Dark Duet #1

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

Review

Okay if you are looking for a good dark read this is deffinantely up that alley.

It took me a little time to actually like Caleb but it isn’t hard to actually like the guy even though he did kidnap Olivia with the intention of training her (well break her down) to be a pleasure slave. There is SOOO much more to the story than that.

A lot of people either love or hate this book and I have to say I really enjoyed it. I was so drawn into it.

There is a brokenness in her that you just hope he will help her fix and same in him, there is something that just needs to be addressed and to some point you get an idea what kind of man he is as you go. You find out quite a bit about him when we get to hear his thoughts. I mean what girl would grow up to be whole, happy and loved when your father tells you:

“Women are dirty whores and full of dirty blood, so every month they have to get rid of it.”

If you have an issue with forced submission this is NOT for you!

I on the otherhand couldn’t put it down I wanted to know what came next.

You can feel the connection that he has with her instantly. He doesn’t know how to deal with that. Before I read this story I saw people saying that they loved him so it was a bit hard to see it at first I really didn’t want to like him but towards the middle and end I can see it.

“Tears had always been mystifying to him. He liked looking at them, tasting them. Truth be told, they made him hard.”

Stockholms syndrome definitely takes a part in this book, but I can understand how that comes to play in the situations and things that happen.

There is quite a bit that happens and MAN; as I was reading it, all I could think was “what the hell goes on in C.J. Roberts mind? I would love to just see in there..” But then as I kept going there were a few times that I had that “yeah no, nevermind!” thought. haha

This isn’t for the weak of heart!

There is a lot that happens and goes on that is NOT okay, but it happens in fiction as well as in reality. I have read another series that has this aspect to it but it was never written from the girls POV who is the captive. We just get to get glimpses of what is going on. This was different, scary, sad, horrible all mixed into one. Yet there was something more to it. You could feel the emotion that lay beneath the surface for both of them.

This is absolutely not for everyone…

But I have to say I look forward to finish up this series I mean if it just gets better… I am on board!

This may not be for everyone but if you want something that leaves you saying WTF did I just read and why did I love it?! This is it!

 

Brandy

 

 

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

One response to “Reveiw ~ Captive in the Dark by C.J. Roberts

  • Ramona

    I loved this series and can’t wait for Epilogue to be in my mailbox! Yep, it was disturbing and sometimes I had those WTF??? moments too! It also had a whole lotta hotness!

Tell me what cha think

