Review ~ This Girl by Colleen Hoover

51zL0RcynRL

Title: This Girl

Author: Colleen Hoover

Series:  Slammed #3

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from his point of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

ReviewI was looking forward to this one but to tell you the truth after reading Walking Disaster and feeling a tad bit disappointed I wasn’t sure how I was going to like this one. I was terrified it was going to be the same as the first book just with a few differences in the thoughts since the story is pretty much the same. Right? Well for me no that wasn’t how it was.

Have to say…Mrs. Hoover did an AWESOME job and I LOVED everything about this book. Yes there were a few parts that were in the first book and well I was expecting that. What I wasn’t expecting was it to feel like a complete book all on its own. I thought it would just feel like a re-write of the first but not at all!

You get the present time, mixed in with remembering how things were in the past. Since we got to see it from her POV in the first book this time it is some parts that are just all his thoughts and how he dealt with things. I didn’t once feel as though I was re-reading the same book. I can’t even explain how happy that made me. I loved that it was set as them being together on their ‘honeymoon’ talking about the past; with her asking him about what he thought or how he felt when he first saw her, or other little moments. I absolutely loved it.

There is nothing that I didn’t like about this book and I have to say that it was a GREAT ending to the series! I was left feeling that it is complete. There are some books that leave you unfulfilled this was not one for me.

I could quote so much from this book, so much of it I loved. Getting to see and feel how much love is between the two of them is just refreshing. There is so much hurt they have both had to live through, they are just perfect for each other and I loved them from the get go. I absolutely love Colleen’s writing, I have read all her books and she is one of those writers that suck you into the book and feel as though you are right there watching everything that is going on right in front of you. There is so much emotion that is put into the series. You couldn’t read it and not feel it. I laughed, cried, and hurt right along with the characters as I read; along with feeling joy and happiness. Not many can pull a reader in the way she has and she does it so effortlessly. I am looking forward to every book she ever puts out. If they are anything like the work she has done so far. I am sure I will love them all.

I am sure there will be some people who will not like reading a book they feel is already told, they may feel as though they are re-reading it. To this I have to say I disagree. I didn’t feel as though it was exactly the same as the first. There was enough of the present time mixed in with the past.

I am sad it is over but have to say I enjoyed the emotional ride she took me on. If you have not read the series I cannot express to you how much I loved these. They are such a great read. Anyone who has read a book written by Mrs. Hoover knows how talented she is, so I don’t need to continue on that route. 🙂

I got so attached to these books for the simple fact that they made me fall in love with this genre of books. I am a lover of all books but my preferences were PNR as well as Erotica/BDSM and when I got a suggestion to read this series, I figured why not, I could use a change. I was worried that it might be too young for me because I enjoy ‘sex’ within my reads (the steamier the better). So when I started this and instantly fell in love with the writing and the characters I knew she was something special (I am sure she knows this already though).  This is when I decided to reach out and read outside my norm. She helped to open my eyes to a whole new genre of books, and for that I thank her! I absolutely fell in love with this series

~ favorites ~

“I dreamt about this girl last night.
Wow. This girl.
This girl completely shatters the window to my soul and crawls inside.”

“There are so many people in this world that can be right for each other. If there weren’t, then cheating would never be an issue. Everyone would find their one true love and life would be great – relationships would be a piece of cake…”

“The only thing that can break the unbreakable is the unthinkable.”

“You, baby girl. You’re my final piece.”

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

