Review ~ Slow Surrender by Cecilia Tan

15789839

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Slow Surrender

Author: Cecilia Tan

Series: Struck by Lightning #1

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

He pushes her sexual boundaries . . .

From the moment waitress Karina meets him in a New York bar, she knows James is different. Daring. Dominating. Though he hides his true identity from her, the mysterious, wealthy businessman anticipates her every desire and fulfills her secret fantasies. Awakened by his touch, Karina discovers a wild side she hadn’t known existed and nothing is off limits.

She aches for more . . .

What begins as an erotic game soon escalates to a power play that blurs the line between pleasure and pain. Even as she capitulates to James’s sensual demands, Karina craves more. She wants his heart, his soul. She wants his love . . . and she’ll break all the rules to get it.

 

Review

I enjoyed it from the get go! I think in reality it would be awesome to have some rich guy come and invite me to play this little game with them haha.

Okay let me start off by saying I am getting really tired of EVERY  BDSM book being compared to fifty shades! Fifty shades is NOT BDSM, yes there is kink but a Dom he was not! SO please can everyone STOP holding fifty shades up to this high standard that it really shouldn’t be held to. This book was good on its own merit! I did not once think of fifty when reading it, it wasn’t until I was getting ready to mark it down as read on goodreads did I see the fifty references. There really isn’t any ‘Master’ or ‘Sir’ stuff going on. He just likes to be in control. The only way one can make comparisons would be the millionaire man with a naive girl. So if that is what you are looking for this has that!

There is so much to this story.

He is very secretive about who he is. There is a dark edginess to him that drew me in immediately but at the same time he is very confident in who he is as a man. That in itself is attractive.  I have to say that some of the things he had her do were beyond hot! I couldn’t put this one down I wanted to know what was next. I wanted to know what he was going to have her do next. She is new to all this and has come to realize that she has been missing out on and wants more.

You get to go on this fun little journey where she gets a taste of domination, and finds out that she enjoys it more than she probably should.

“Every girl dreams she’ll be the one who catches his eye, who catches his heart.

Do any of them dream of being the one who’s caught?”

I have always been a huge fan of BDSM books because of the power exchange the dominant having it, the submissive giving up control. It always has been my favorite genre of books.  For the most part it probably is because of moments like this…

“…when I’m with him, all the attention is on me. It’s all about my needs, my desires. I’m the one who gets off. He said I’m going to have to earn the privilege of his cock.”

Who wouldn’t want to read this??

I am looking forward to the next one! And the ending…yeah there were a few twists that were thrown in there for good measure and well had me completely at a loss. I wasn’t sure exactly what happened or why, but will find out hopefully in the next book.

The title of the book holds true. If you are expecting this to go fast and get right to the sex between the two of them then you will not enjoy this one. It takes time for him to get her where he wants her oh the build up and anticipation!

To end it all…This is a girl who does things with a stranger, a man she doesn’t even know his name. So if something like that would drive you nuts than this might not be for you. That and there IS a cliffhanger at the end of this one. I know some do not enjoy them but I do from time to time.

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

One response to “Review ~ Slow Surrender by Cecilia Tan

  • Hairy-minded Bear

    I think the cliff hanger would kill me, especially if the next book isn’t out yet. I just might have to wait until I can read the pair. Thanks for sharing, though. And thanks for separating it apart from 50 Shades. Because blech.

Tell me what cha think

