Review ~ Epilogue by C.J. Roberts

17317675

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Epilogue

Author: C.J. Roberts

Series: Dark Duet #3

add-to-goodreads
10 synopsis

I’m writing this because you begged. You know how I love the begging. In fact, you probably know too many things and know them far too well.

Who am I?

Well, that’s what I’m trying to figure out. I was a whore in my youth, a killer since my adolescence, and a monster as a man. I am the man who kidnapped Livvie. I am the man who held her in a dark room for weeks. But, most importantly, I am the man she loves.

She loves me. It’s quite sick, isn’t it?

Of course, there’s more to our story than can be surmised in a few short sentences, but I’m at a loss for justifying my behavior back then. I assume if you’re reading this, I don’t need to make those justifications. You’ve already made your own.

You’re reading this because you want to know about the rest of the story. You want to know what happened that warm summer night in September of 2010, the night I met Livvie at The Paseo. It was the night my life changed all over again.

It didn’t happen exactly as Livvie said. She’s been very kind to me in the retelling of our story. The truth is far more…complicated.

Review

I was looking forward to this one because like everyone else I was so curious as to what happened in between the time she was let go from the hospital and when she met up with him again. I know in my mind it couldn’t have been easy. I mean they are both so broken and lost. I knew that there had to be issues that would come to the surface.

Reading about Caleb and how he is trying so hard to be who she needs, to not be who he was raised to be. You can’t help but feel for him. I mean they always say that some of the most hateful and hurtful people are the way they are because they were raised that way and they don’t see the wrong in it. And to a point that does apply to him. He knew what he had done to him growing up was wrong but it is also who he is, and all he knows.

We get to see him interact with a few of her friends and that made me laugh. I can only imagine what it is like to go from not having friends or playing video games to being thrown into situation where you have to hang out with people who you don’t really want to be around; but you suck it up to make the person you care about happy. We have all put on a smile and acted like we want to be around people we don’t want to be at one time or another. It is just fun reading about his interaction between them all.

I have to say that this was a good ending and a nice finish to Livvie’s story.

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

