Review ~ White Trash Beautiful by Teresa Mummert

16146226

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: White Trash Beautiful

Author: Teresa Mummert

Series: White Trash Trilogy #1

add-to-goodreads
10 synopsis

Cass Daniels isn’t waiting for her knight in shining armor. She knows that girls like her don’t get a happily ever after. Not if you live in a trailer with your mom, work at a greasy spoon diner, and get leered at by old men. Maybe that’s why she puts up with Jackson—her poor excuse for a boyfriend, who treats her like dirt. Cass has learned to accept her lot in life. That is, until he walks into her diner. . . .

His name is Tucker White, and he’s different from any man Cass has ever known. Tall, tattooed, and bad-ass gorgeous, he’s the lead singer of the rock band Damaged. From the moment they meet, Tucker sees something in Cass he just can’t shake. Something beautiful. Something haunted. Something special. And he’s determined to find out what it is—if only he can get her to open up and let him in.

Review

Wow!

Okay so I had heard that this one was ehh at first. I was lucky enough to get it when it was offered up over at Netgalley. I was a little hesitant at first because of the mixed reviews. I am so glad that I got to read it after she added in the extra 150 or so pages.

So at first I have to say that I was pulled into the small trash town. I felt so bad for Cass the instant we get to know her situation. Having to work so that she can take care of her mother and boyfriend. She lives in a trailer park that is right across the street from the dinner she works at. Everyone knows everyone’s business.

So many asked why Cass didn’t just leave and move on. Anyone who has not been in that type of situation wouldn’t get it. I am not saying I know that situation but when you got issues at home, and well lets face it we all got issues at home growing up.

Cass is so broken and beat down, those who are supposed to love and protect her are the ones who have made her life a living hell as well.

I am sure many don’t get the instant attraction that Tucker has to her and well come on we can all understand that instant attraction to someone. It happens all the time. Once he sees her looser of a boyfriend interact with her he instantly knows things are not okay with them. He knows exactly what she is going through in just that small interaction between Jackson and Cass. It is hard to understand but I can honestly say that yes I get it, I am sure many who read the story didn’t understand how that connection could happen so fast. Broken recognizes broken, they instantly are drawn to someone who is living what they have witnessed or lived themselves. They usually want to help in anyway that they can.  That is what Tucker was.

I lost it at one point and sat crying while I read. It is just so heart wrenching. What is sad is that it actually happens in day to day living. Domestic violence is not something to take lightly. It might be a trigger for some when reading this. It isn’t all throughout the book but there is one scene that might be difficult for some.

So the only thing I wish we got more of would be the back story between Jackson and Cass. I mean we see what it is now and we get a little bit of info there but not a whole lot. So I have to say that I am looking forward to seeing where book 2 takes it.

Brandy

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

