Review ~ Old Wounds by N.K. Smith

9836659

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title:  Old Wounds

Author: N.K. Smith

Series: Old Wounds #1

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

Sent to live with her estranged father, troubled seventeen year Sophia Young is biding her time until school is over and freedom is hers. But running from her painful past is not as easy as she was expecting, especially after meeting a kindred spirit in Elliott Dalton, the shy, withdrawn son of a prominent doctor.

In the first novel of the series, they are paired together in therapy; a seemingly unlikely pair who have nothing in common.

Or do they?

For Sophia and Elliott are about to learn that appearances can be deceiving.

Review

I wasn’t sure what to expect at first with this book.

I went a little click happy on Netgalley and this was one of them.

I was pleasantly surprised. I was pulled into it in the first chapter! This poor girl has gone through so much (well it is at first implied and we know what it is for the most part by the implications). We don’t really get the back story just that things were not good at home with her mother. She goes to live with her father after getting in trouble.

This is where we get to meet Elliot and his family. As well as other people from school.
I have to say that I instantly fell in love with Elliot! His story is another that we are left wondering exactly what happened to him.

I was happy to learn that this was a part of a series because when it ended I was left wanting more, wanting to know what happens now. Now that things were said and put out there and some things happen.

Sophie is not your “normal” (what ever that is) teen girl she is the tell you how it is kinda girl. One that smokes weed, curses, and is so broken and lost. Elliot is just as broken. They have to be around each other because of counseling she is required to do. As well as them having a class together.

It is a darker story, one that I never thought it would be. I am sure that there are many teens who have been through something similar or know someone who is in a broken home and have to deal with some of the issues that are touched upon.

I love that this isn’t the normal teenager in high school whose only issue is that her boyfriend is cheating on her, or her best friend is a back stabber. This is much deeper and darker than that. It touches on issues that are real and true for many I am sure. I always love getting a book that is just different from the norm.

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

