Review ~ Left Drowning by Jessica Park

17325147

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Left Drowning

Author: Jessica Park

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

What does it take to rise from life’s depths, swim against the current, and breathe?

Weighted down by the loss of her parents, Blythe McGuire struggles to keep her head above water as she trudges through her last year at Matthews College. Then a chance meeting sends Blythe crashing into something she doesn’t expect—an undeniable attraction to a dark-haired senior named Chris Shepherd, whose past may be even more complicated than her own. As their relationship deepens, Chris pulls Blythe out of the stupor she’s been in since the night a fire took half her family. She begins to heal, and even, haltingly, to love this guy who helps her find new paths to pleasure and self-discovery. But as Blythe moves into calmer waters, she realizes Chris is the one still strangled by his family’s traumatic history. As dark currents threaten to pull him under, Blythe may be the only person who can keep him from drowning.

Review

I have to say that this one I am kind of on the fence. So here it goes.

I absolutely love Sabin! The banter between everyone at some parts is just the best!
There is quite a bit that goes on. There is hurt, heartache, sadness, healing, love and hate.

I had fun following along with the crew and just feeling like I was there hanging out with everyone.
The broken relationship between Blythe and her brother James is so sad. But after going through what they did how could that relationship not be strained?

I absolutely love that Jessica Park added in the last names of some awesome authors mixed into the book. 🙂 Hoover, Reber, Webber, McGuire. I’m not sure if there are more but those were the ones that stuck out when I was reading!

The only thing that I didn’t care much for is how predictable it was. I had most of it figured out before I even got half way through the book. I don’t usually have an issue with books that are predictable but I love when I end with a OMG or NO WAY, this didn’t have that. At least it didn’t for me.

But I do have to say that the wittyness that comes from Jessica is one of the best! I said it before and I will say it again. I loved the banter, but there is a sadness mixed in there that just breaks your heart!

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

