Review ~ Unbreakable by Rebecca Shea

17208961

Title: Unbreakable

Author: Rebecca Shea

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

Jessica Harper is the epitome of perfection. She’s a good daughter, makes excellent grades, and always strays on the safe side of life. The last thing she thought would ever happen was falling in love with her best friend’s brother. But sometimes fate just has a way of bringing two people together.

Wide receiver for the University of Arizona, Gabe Garcia, seems to have it all. When his feelings for Jessica come to surface, Gabe will give up everything to be with her.

But what happens when a tragedy abruptly changes the course of your life? For Jessica and Gabe, everything they thought they knew about each other will be questioned. Sometimes, there are scars in life that are cut too deep to completely heal.

Will their love prove to be unbreakable, or will it shatter and prove fate is just another lie?

Review

To start off I will have to say that I loved the connection between Jessica and Gabe’s family. I am hispanic and I dont read ‘mijo‘ / ‘mija‘ often in books. So that made me smile!

I enjoyed the story it was a quick read and that is a good and not so great thing. I kind of wanted a little more. This is the normal virgin girl who looses her virginity to the love of her life and is happy. Things than happen and there is a huge change in what happens with Jessica. She has some things that she needs to work through.

I really wanted to love this story I did. But there were things that I just couldn’t get past. I am sure that others will love it but I personally just didn’t feel the connection there.

I think for me there just wasn’t enough character development. I mean we know her and him. But after what happened it’s like she pulled into herself and after that I can understand why she would but I felt like she also did in the book so I didn’t feel what she was feeling.  I wanted to feel what she did, I wanted to hurt with her. It may be because it is a difficult subject to write and I understand that but I just felt like she felt broken but I didn’t “feel” that she felt it. If that makes any sense at all what so ever.

I did love me some Landon!!!! That is my kinda guy! I loved the interaction. I was also happy to learn that he gets a book! I am looking forward to that one! 🙂

I did like the relationship that she had with Gabes family also. It just reminded me of my best friends family when I was a kid. I was there all the time, I was a part of their family. I was also surprised how easily her best friend just let it all go also. I mean if something was going on with my friend like it or not I would climb into her bedroom window if she was trying to ignore me. We WOULD talk about it and I would be there for her even if she didn’t like it. I just wish we saw more a fight there.

Overall though it was a quick read. I enjoyed parts and didn’t enjoy some. I would never tell anyone to not read a book I am sure there will be MANY out there that love it.

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

