Review ~ Never Have I Ever by August Clearwing

17560415

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Never Have I Ever

Author: August Clearwing

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

Astrophysicist-in-training Piper Minogue has a lot of control over her day-to-day life. Between completing a Master’s degree at Caltech and beginning her fruitful career at a local observatory she has little time for socializing. Until she attends one specific party that is. There, Piper is introduced to a drinking game called Never Have I Ever, and she finds herself admitting to a secret fantasy which challenges her friends’ views of her otherwise prudish nature. Her confession piques the interest of one man in particular, Noah; a handsome stranger with a darkly boyish charm. The resulting spiral of rapture and torture that follows is threatened by the demons of both their pasts. Piper’s inability to give her heart to anyone, and Noah’s guilt over the death of his former lover claw to the surface to tear Piper away from not only the one man who has ever made her feel like she does not have to be in control of her desires, but also the newly collected list of Nevers they both want to turn into reality. *Contains strong BDSM themes*

Review

This one was highly recommended by a lot of people. I have been looking for books that have rape play, this was suggested. So I took no time jumping in and getting started. I will have to say I am still left looking for a good book with rape play. And before anyone says that it is a spoiler it really isn’t. It is brought up in a never have I ever came. Hence the name of the book. Now if you want to know what happens from there you need to read.

On to my thoughts now.

Okay the cover…yeah. I am not totally sure how that goes with the book. It kind of is a bit on the creepy side. Made me think at first that it was a horror story alone.

All in all it was a good story. I was sucked in and mostly I will have to say it was because I was truly hoping that there would be more of the play I have been looking for but it just wasn’t there. SO if you are reading it for that…you will be disappointed. BUT there are a lot of things that go on. There is hurt, pain, horror, suspense, love, and angst. I did get to a point where I just couldn’t put it down on the intensity of the story alone. I just needed to know what happens. I was so sucked in and wanted to say that I saw it coming at some points but I really didn’t. There is some BDSM mixed in. Which made it a little better as far as the sex goes, because well lets face it I am a sucker for BDSM. There were twists and turns that just had me on pins and needles. There were also parts that I just wanted to say “Oh come on. Why would you NOT say something?”

All in all it was a good read and although I am sure many would not like it because of some of the things that happen in the story. (Which I don’t want to spoil for those who have not read) There are things that may be a trigger for some people. There is also another thing that some may have issues with such as the words “whore” and “slut”. I know that for some that is a huge turn off.

So if you are looking for a steamy read that has suspense, twists and turns, this will be a good one. I am kind of back and forth on it. There was a lot I liked about it but there were some things that I didn’t care much for. But with any book there will be those who love it and those who hate it, I was kind of in the middle. And that might be in part due to the fact that I went in expecting something totally different from what I got.

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

