Review ~ Guarding Hope by Ann Mayburn

18219248

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Guarding Hope

Author: Ann Mayburn

Series: Contego Agency #1

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

War hero Daniel Escobar has left behind his career as a Marine and now works for the Contego Agency, Detroit’s premier personal protection firm. Unfortunately his heroic actions on the battlefield cost him not only part of his sight, but also his peace of mind. Haunted by regrets of the past, Daniel finds a new purpose in life when he is given the job of protecting Hope, the only woman he’s ever truly loved, from the mob.

Hope Walker can’t believe it when she finds Daniel, her first love, working at the Contego Agency. She’s searched for him for years, wanting to know why he left her after that terrible night their senior year in high school when a fight with his mother’s drug dealer boyfriend left Hope in the hospital and Daniel shipped off to parts unknown by Child Protective Services. For both Daniel and Hope the old memories and emotions come rushing back, and together they will have to fight to stay alive long enough to give their love a second chance.

Review

So I have come to the understanding that books by Ann will more than likely be some of the best ones! I enjoyed this one for so many reasons! BUT let me start by saying jarheads have a special place in my heart and I have to say that she does such an awesome job portraying their wit, and just smack talking! Having been married to a Marine I know first hand how they can be when they are together! I can honestly say that this was another good one! Don’t get me wrong she has done a great job of adding in some good steam but at the same time that isn’t what this book is all about. There is a good mix of suspense as well as heartache.

I love that you are able to get a connection to almost everyone instantly! Before we get to even meet Hope I already loved all the guys Daniel was with at the bar at the beginning. I found myself reading and not wanting to put it down. I just wanted more, and for me that means something because I have read other books that have to do with Marines and it turns me off because I don’t feel like they are portrayed in the way I know them to be. It is honestly hard for me to love a book that doesn’t do them justice. Yes they are awesome guys who defend our country and work their asses off, their families sit at home worry and pray that they are safe any time they are away. So I know all that and how it works BUT what people have a hard time getting across…That would be the camaraderie, how they are when they are all together!

As I read I had many different emotions. I laughed more times than not when the guys were together. I hurt and even teared up at a few points. But for me I think what I enjoyed was the suspense of the storyline. I couldn’t imagine having to be living in fear that something horrible would or could happen because of trying to do something good for another person.

There is so much to love about this book.  The only thing that I wish we got more of was the issue as to why they had their “falling out”. It is brought up and we get the gist of it all but I kind of wish we would have gotten more of Hope’s dad. Him and Daniel having a face to face moment maybe. To be honest I had thought that some of the reason that her dad didn’t like him was because he wasn’t African-American. But that wasn’t it at all.

I know some people enjoy reading books that have interracial couples, but for me this was like any other book as far as race goes. It wasn’t an issue, I forgot at times that she was African-American and he wasn’t, until there would be an explanation on how her body looked or whatnot. I kind of wish there was something a little more on that aspect. I know I love reading about a Latina heroine because of language used or mannerisms that just remind me of things I did growing up or things my mom did. So that would be the one and only thing that I can think of that I wish we would have gotten just a little piece of. I mean I would say I am well versed and can carry myself as a lady if need be but piss me off and you can watch the ghetto in me come out. 🙂 In this story there was a moment that I thought for sure she is going to lose it and let that inner “bitch” out. But she really didn’t. (not when I thought for sure she would) And it may be because she was raised better than that 😉 but I think we all have it in us.

Overall it was a great start to what I am sure will be a good series. I am looking forward to getting more of these guys!

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

