Review ~ Beyond Control by Kit Rocha

16049677

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Beyond Control

Author: Kit Rocha

Series: Beyond #2

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

She refuses to be owned.

Alexa Parrino escaped a life of servitude and survived danger on the streets to become one of the most trusted, influential people in Sector Four, where the O’Kanes rule with a hedonistic but iron fist. Lex has been at the top for years, and there’s almost nothing she wouldn’t do for the gangand for its leader. Lie, steal, kill—but she bows to no one, not even Dallas O’Kane.

He’ll settle for nothing less.

Dallas fought long and hard to carve a slice of order out of the chaos of the sectors. Dangers both large and small threaten his people, but it’s nothing he can’t handle. His liquor business is flourishing, and new opportunities fuel his ambition. Lex could help him expand his empire, something he wants almost as much as he wants her. And no one says no to the king of Sector Four.

Falling into bed is easy, but their sexual games are anything but casual. Attraction quickly turns to obsession, and their careful dance of heady dominance and sweet submission uncovers a need so deep, so strong, it could crush them both.

Review

This was the very first dystopian series I have ever read, it gave me hope that I might like this type of read and the first book was a hit and oh my goodness was it good. This one was a bit of a miss for me. I think partially it might be because there was a lot of “shop talk” about sectors and what some have and some don’t. I know that it was important to the story line don’t get me wrong, but I caught myself kind of skimming over most of that.

I wanted more about the relationships that were building and what was going on underneath the surface with Dallas. But then we get a few twists and turns that I wasn’t seeing I did like it overall not as much as the first but enough to read the third to see where it goes. There is some BDSM mixed in but it is pretty light there is no sir and master stuff going on but there are floggers and cuffs and all that fun stuff. There is a lot of sex also. I enjoy their writing so far and I look forward to more. I didn’t really care much for Dallas to begin with but we get to see a different side of him in this story. We get to see a softer side from time to time as well as with Lex. I am sure that because I didn’t care for Dallas much at the start that might be part of the reason I was ehh about this one. 

We also get some Noel and Jas as well. I love when we get to see some of the characters from the other books. Always makes reading a series fun because we get to see how they are doing and don’t feel like they are just forgotten.

Brandy

 

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

