Review ~ Against the Ropes by Sarah Castille

17586475

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: Against the Ropes

Author: Sarah Castille

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

He scared me. He thrilled me. And after one touch, all I could think about was getting more…

Makayla never thought she’d set foot in an underground mixed-martial arts club. But if anyone needs a medic on hand, it’s these guys. Trouble is, at her first sight of the club’s owner she’s the one feeling breathless.

All sleek muscle and restrained power, the man they call Torment plays to win at any cost. Whether it’s in the ring or in the bedroom, he knows exactly when to use a soft touch and when to launch a full-on assault. He always knows just how far he can push. And he’s about to tempt Makayla in ways she never imagined…

Review

Got to say. The cover is pretty hot and I was instantly drawn in. For the most part I was not disappointed. I am a fan of MMA fighting so that aspect was very interesting to read it when I usually watch it.

I liked how the two of them met that was just to fun I thought. She was pretty bold for the most part when she was checking on him after the first fight. I honestly never would have thought she would have been the type to just lean over and kiss a scar. Especially the more you read and get to know her. I mean where did that boldness go when she needed it?

Now on to him, okay I loved him for the most part. I did kind of have a bit of an issue with his insecurity. I don’t know what else to call it. I would say possessiveness but I just can’t seem to do that it screamed insecure to me. I mean he would get angry if men looked at her. He had anger issues also. Haha. And that was just a bit much at times.

The two of them together well it was cute I do have to say. She had a way with him that no other did. It was a mix of sweet and fun. She was so silly with him at times and that cracked me up. I am sure some may call it childish but I break out in randomness at times and just say some of the weirdest things, so for me that was believable 🙂

Last and not least I have to talk about the sex. Okay for me it was just awkward at times. I think the safe word could have been left out. And then adding in BDSM I get that it is the hottest thing because of other books but it just didn’t come across that well for me. He seemed so untrained and not 100% there as a Dom, to be kinky is one thing and you can do that without trying to bring in BDSM. It just seemed strange at times. Don’t get me wrong there were some parts that were hot. But the motorcycle scene was a bit on the “I’m not sold he is good at this” side.

Overall I absolutely loved the banter between the guys it was fun and it was sweet at times. There is an overall sweetness between him and her that is present. I do have to say when I finished, overall I did enjoy it.

Brandy

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

