Review ~ The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

17317855

*click on cover pic for amazon link*

Title: The Husband’s Secret

Author: Liane Moriarty

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

At the heart of The Husband’s Secret is a letter that’s not meant to be read

My darling Cecilia, if you’re reading this, then I’ve died…

Imagine that your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not just the life you built together, but the lives of others as well. Imagine, then, that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive. . . .
Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all—she’s an incredibly successful businesswoman, a pillar of her small community, and a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But that letter is about to change everything, and not just for her: Rachel and Tess barely know Cecilia—or each other—but they too are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s secret.

Review

To start this all off…let me first say that this is the first book by this author that I have read. I read a review that was done by a blogger I follow and 9 times out of 10 I agree with her thoughts on a book so I usually know if I will like a book by her review. SO I was looking forward to this one.

I got started on this book and right away in that first chapter I was excited to see what was going to happen… thanwe get another person in the next chapter… the next chapter is about yet another person. I actually did read the synopsis on this one so I will have to say that I was lost and confused at first I had no idea that this book was going to be written in 3 different points of view. That each chapter was going to be about another person, and each chapter would jump to another. I just wanted Cecilia’s story and every chapter I would finish I would get frustrated if the next one wasn’t her. I am not usually one to start with a negative aspect but this is a big “I’m not a big fan” moment. I was confused because not once does it let you know that it is written in 3 points of view. It lets you know that the secret that Cecilia’s husband has affects these other people BUT that’s it. I’m usually never one to put a book down, I will push through and finish it up, but I had really thought about just walking away from this one because I just didn’t understand the connection or why it was portrayed as one womans story when it isn’t written that way.

Now that being said, the issue that I had with the writing style (as far as the jumping around goes). I am glad that I finished the book. For me, and anyone who knows me knows I am horrible at guessing what is going to happen,  and once again I wasn’t able to figure out what the letter was about before she opened it. I had so many different ideas in my mind. I had about 6 different ideas in my mind. 🙂

When it all came down to it and I finally finished the book, I would have to say that my absolute favorite part of the book was the very ending. That epilogue was awesome! I enjoyed the journey and to be 100% honest I really wish it was all written in just Cecilia’s point of view.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

