Review ~ Tender Mercies by Kitty Thomas

jack5.500x8.500.indd

 

Title: Tender Mercies

Author: Kitty Thomas

ADD TO GOODREADS

10 synopsis

Fed up with play kink, Grace Warner moves to an island that embraces erotic slavery to be with a man she met online. Within hours of her arrival, everything is ripped from her, and she quickly learns play is preferable to the realities of actual enslavement.Asher Collins has spent the past year mourning and blaming himself for the death of his slave, Darcy. When Grace catches his eye at a showing, obviously abused, he becomes obsessed with buying her and finding a way to atone for his own past sins.

DISCLAIMER: This is a work of fiction, and the author does not endorse or condone any behavior done to another human being without their consent. This work contains subject matter which is not appropriate for minors including depictions of abuse, slavery, dubious consent, and anal play.

Review

Ohhhh myyyy gooddnessss…..

Where to start. Okay I have said before I like the darker / taboo books and this would fit right in there. This was so heart wrenching.

This is my favorite one by Kitty Thomas so far! I have read most of her books and this one was awesome!

It only took me a few hours to read it. I couldn’t put it down once I started. I was so sucked in and needed to know what was going to happen.

What kills me is that stuff like this does happen and does go on. You have women who will sit and talk with people on the internet for a few weeks, months, and even years and they think they know and can trust the person only to find out that is not true. But when they find out it’s too late.

There are so many horrible things that happen to Grace. I am thankful that Kitty doesn’t go too much into detail on some of the stuff but she does give you just enough info to connect the dots yourself and it isn’t pretty. I am not sure if my imagination is worse than if she would have actually written out in detail what happend. At least that way I could say it was her writing not my mind. 😉

Asher, what can I say about him other than I loved him.

I kind of wish we got an epilogue to tell us how things were with Grace. She was so broken and abused and I would have loved to get a glimpse of how she was maybe 2 years from now kind of thing.

The only thing I didn’t like so much was that I  noticed with her books they just kind of end. I am not a big fan of just an abrupt ending and nothing more to the story but I liked this story! I can look past it. Same with Comfort Food. I enjoyed that one as well. I just wish they were longer and we got more…

 ~ Favorite Quotes ~

“Why would one own a pet if they only intended to mistreat it? … slaves were the same as pets. Why acquire one if you were just going to abuse it? You could never truly own something that hatted you.”

“For giving me the choice long enough to know I didn’t want that burden anymore. And for taking it away before I had to decide.”

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

