Review ~ Styxx by Sherrilyn Kenyon

15767586

Title: Styxx

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Series: Dark Hunter #23

add-to-goodreads

10 synopsis

Just when you thought doomsday was over…

Centuries ago Acheron saved the human race by imprisoning an ancient evil bent on absolute destruction. Now that evil has been unleashed and it is out for revenge.

As the twin to Acheron, Styxx hasn’t always been on his brother’s side. They’ve spent more centuries going at each other’s throats than protecting their backs. Now Styxx has a chance to prove his loyalty to his brother, but only if he’s willing to trade his life and future for Acheron’s.

The Atlantean goddess of Wrath and Misery, Bethany was born to right wrongs. But it was never a task she relished. Until now. She owes Acheron a debt that she vows to repay, no matter what it takes. He will join their fellow gods in hell and nothing is going to stop her.

But things are never what they seem, and Acheron is no longer the last of his line. Styxx and Acheron must put aside their past and learn to trust each other or more will suffer.

Yet it’s hard to risk your own life for someone who once tried to take yours, even when it’s your own twin, and when loyalties are skewed and no one can be trusted, not even yourself, how do you find a way back from the darkness that wants to consume the entire world? One that wants to start by devouring your very soul?

Review

WOW!

What can I say…Mrs. Kenyon has yet to write anything bad! I LOVED this one oh so very much! I loved Acheron but this one…I want to say that this one is right up there with it. They are tied for first place for the best in the series to me. I love how her writing just pulls you in and its like you are there when everything happens.

My heart broke all over again. Oh how after reading Acheron I hated Styxx. Reading this I honestly hated Ryssa. I disliked Acheron very much as well. It’s funny and true how there are two sides to every story. We never got Styxx’ side of anything so it was easy to hate him. But with this one I couldn’t hate Acheron because I knew what he went through but I did not agree with how he talked to or treated Styxx when he was around.

I wanted to hate Styxx and stay mad at him for how he was with Acheron in the his book but just couldn’t hold on to that anger. It slipped away and didn’t take long for me to be hurting for him as much as I hurt for Ash when I was reading his book. I laughed and cried, and just felt so broken inside for him.

This was a great long book and had me so pulled in. I felt everything I read. I have loved all the books she has written and will continue to read them. She does such an amazing job. I love that we get to see how things play out for him as well as the relationship between him and his brother Acheron. I absolutely fell in love with him. I also loved his smart ass remarks. I was laughing quite a bit at some parts. I can’t wait to see him come up later in other books. 🙂

There are some things that many may not be able to get through. There is so much abuse and neglect as well as rape.

~ Favorite Quotes ~

“When someone is drowning and you try to save them, they’re more likely to drown you before you pull them out.”

“What is so wrong with me that no one can love me? That no one will keep me?”

“That is the beauty of memory, isn’t it? Our reality is always clouded by our perceptions of the truth. You remember events one way Nd so you judge your brother without knowledge of how things were for him”

“Deviled ham…why would ham be possessed?”

“You need to modulate your unwanted ire, buddy. I’m not your ho and you ain’t my pimp.”
“It’s amazing the damage we do to ourselves and others when all we’re trying to do is protect ourselves from being hurt.”

“No. Tragedy never is. Our lives are marked and shaped by our regrets. Things we all want to take back and can’t. In a perfect world, we would never hurt the ones we love or cause hurt to befall them. But the world isn’t perfect and neither are we.”
“The most beautiful heart of all is the one that can still love even while it bleeds, and especially after it’s been broken into thousands of pieces.”
“A silent man is a thinking man. A silent woman is an angry one…”
“Words are easy to say, but emotions betray the best intentions.”
“We must spoil our women, boy. A happy woman makes a happy home. An unhappy one makes us drink.”
“Anyone can battle for pride, power, vanity, greed, or hate, but war should always be approached with an equal measure of wisdom and strength. It’s not just enough to know when to fight, but to know when to lay down the sword and negotiate. Not everything in the world is worth fighting for.”

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

