Review ~ Escape From Paradise by Gwendolyn Field

17615896

Title: Escape From Paradise

Author: Gwendolyn Field

Series: Paradise #1

ADD TO GOODREADS

10 synopsis

When college sophomore Angela Birch sneaks from Texas to Mexico for Spring Break, she believes the worst that can happen is her parents finding out.

Wrong.

The worst is falling for the ruse of handsome, alluring Fernando. One spontaneous choice whisks Angela across the world to the pseudo paradise of Spain’s Mediterranean Riviera where she has another choice to make: live cooperatively as one of billionaire Marco Ruiz’s slaves, or die.

* * *

Colin Douglas’s future was seized and choked when deliberate tragedy struck his Scottish family at the age of sixteen. He spent his remaining youthful years infiltrating the U.K.’s crime world, seeking power, control, and revenge, all leading to a position as an undercover agent. With nothing to lose, Colin accepts the seemingly impossible job of rescuing America’s famous missing girl, Angela Birch. Colin knows that to enter a snake lair, one must become a snake. It turns out to be a mission which will put his desire for control to the ultimate test, and make him wish for things he never knew he wanted.

*AUTHOR’S NOTE* Escape from Paradise is a work of fiction intended for adult readers, containing graphic sexual scenarios and strong language.

ReviewWow. I have to say this one got me. I was so drawn in and couldn’t out it down.
This is not a happy go lucky read it is a darker read. So if anyone has issues with forced slavery and kidnapping along with rape this is not for you.

The beginning was a tad slow for me but it didn’t take long to get into the serious stuff. My heart broke for her when she realized that she was not going to be going home.

I absolutely fell in love with Josef though. I was so pulled into everything that happened. It was one of those books that for me instantly disappeared and became a movie in my mind. Not always a good and happy one but there were moments that were not so heartbreaking.

I don’t know what it is about these type of books but they just pull me in. I’m sure some would say I’m sick and have issues but ehh to each their own right?

Overall it is not horrible for her where she is and I love that there is more to the story. She wasn’t singled out to be taken, in reality it was an accident. To be honest I would love to get a book for Fernando. I would love to get in his head. He is sick and has issues. But yes, I would love to read all about it. 🙂

I can’t wait to get the next book. I read on her site that she is going to do one for Josef…there is no set date, because she also writes YA under a different name and those are the stories that are taking over right now in her head. But she will get to his story. I am looking forward to it!!

Yes this is a dark read but I personally like them a little darker. This one will make you cringe a few times but overall it is a good read, something different than the norm. (well my norm)

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

