Review ~ Carter Reed by Tijan

18221931

Title: Carter Reed

Author: Tijan

ADD TO GOODREADS

10 synopsis

Emma decided to skip the gym and went home early. It was the last easy decision she made because she found her roommate being raped by the boyfriend. She had two choices. Call the cops and be killed by his family’s mafia connections or kill him first and hope to survive. There was no choice to her. She killed the bastard first and went to the one person who could protect her. Carter Reed. He’s a weapon for the rivaling mafia family, but he’s also Emma’s secret. Not only was he best friends with her brother, but she’s the reason he became that weapon in the first place.

Review

This one…well let me just say that synopsis (I have said it before and I don’t usually read them but this one I did) pulled me in and I couldn’t wait to get started on this one. Plus it was all over the place and everyone was talking about how amazing it is.

I did want to love it. It started off good, pulled me in quick. It didn’t take that long to lose me though. I mean I get that she is in fear of her life and her friend’s life so she runs to the one person her brother told her she could trust if she ever needed help. So she goes to him.

Okay so…the connection between the two of them for me was really just not there. I mean I get that there is a history between them. That there is that connection, being her brother. But to go from not knowing him really because it has been YEARS since she sent him to automatically jump into the whole…OMG panties dripping wet and falling off was just a bit much for me. I kind of wanted there to be more there than there was, the slow build up maybe, a reconnection maybe. I don’t know, but what I got was not what I wanted.

There were a few parts that had me, I kind of knew a few of the twist that came, I just saw them coming.

Okay the one thing I did have a hard time with would have to be how man damn times the ACHE between her legs came and the desire. All I could think was COME ON now. I mean maybe it didn’t come up that often but I swear it did. And maybe the reason it stuck with me was because it all happened the VERY first time she sees him after like ten years. Maybe it’s just me but if she didn’t talk about her desire for him back then why all of a sudden is it so strong and hits her the instant she sees him?? I don’t know for me it just felt like the whole chemistry between the two of them was forced.

I did like him though. Carter Reed did have great potential, I am usually not a huge fan of alternating POV books but this is one that I would have loved to see what was going on in his head. I just felt like we didn’t really get much on her end as far as the relationship between the two of them in the past. We get her POV and that is great but there is also his that I think would have been better to throw in there when she was remembering things about the past. That way we could get a better understanding on what really was going on in his head. BUT I also understand that it doesn’t always work that way. When an author writes they sometimes get an overview so we can get different sides to the story in third person. When it is written in first person we get just the one persons POV, the author may not get other POV’s so with that I don’t count that against this story. I do personally prefer first person so that was a plus with this story. I do just wish the spark was there.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

