Review ~ Making Faces by Amy Harmon

18301124

Title: Making Faces

Author: Amy Harmon

ADD TO GOODREADS

10 synopsis

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore.

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty an

d a little beast in all of us.

Review

So I have read MANY reviews on this story. I figured I would see what all the hype was about and so I dove in…

I am usually not a big YA reader, I do like it from  time to time, to break up the other stuff I read. I did enjoy this much more than I thought I would. I liked that this is about the girl everyone overlooks. I absolutely LOVE the connection between Fern and her cousin Bailey it is absolutely heartwarming. I am not sure there is much I didn’t like about this book when it comes down to it.

The thing is, Ambrose is the one guy who everyone loves and wants to know. Fern has a crush on him which well isn’t surprising since he is THE guy. He is the head wrestler and gets a scholarship to go to college. That well lets just say is not what he has planned. He convinces his buddies to join the military as soon as they graduate.  Things happen as they do in reality and not everyone makes it back home alive.

I am usually not a big fan of high school based books, this one though did pull me in. It was a little slow at first and I was trying to figure out where it was going because well I didn’t read the synopsis. So I didn’t know the direction the story was going to go. For me personally I love going in having no idea other than people saying it’s a good read. Because some synopsis’ give away a little too much. I think personally this one kind of does.

That being said. I got pulled in and have to say that I couldn’t wait to see how things would work out. I had heard it was an emotional read and I didn’t understand how that was going to happen, because well it just wasn’t going to happen or so I thought. I got to one part and just couldn’t hold it back, the tears started rolling down my face.

I know that there are some people who do not read YA books and that is fine. But, if by chance you want to try and see if you might like it I think this is a good one! I REALLY enjoyed it!

Favorite Quotes

“It’s hard to come to terms with the fact that you aren’t ever going to be loved the way you want to be loved.”

“If God makes all our faces, did he laugh when he made me?…If he made me this way, is it okay, to blame him for the things I hate? For the flaws that seem to worsen every time I see a mirror…”

“…taught him to love and put things in perspective, to live for the present, to say I love you often and to mean it. And to be grateful for every day.”

“I don’t think we get answers to every question. We don’t get to know all the whys. But I think we will look back at the end of our lives, if we do the best we can, and we will see that the things that we begged God to take from us , the things we cursed him for, the things that made us turn our backs on him or any belief in him, are the things that were the biggest blessings…”

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

