Review ~ Maybe This Time by Chantal Fernando

18375518

Title: Maybe This Time

Author: Chantal Fernando

Series: Maybe #1

ADD TO GOODREADS

10 synopsis

Moving in with my half-brother Xander, I had no idea what to expect.
But nothing could have prepared me for this.
My brother’s friends are wild, protective, secretive, always around.
And drop dead gorgeous.
Out of all of them, there’s something about Reid Knox.
Brooding, temperamental, guarded…
And I want him more than anything I have ever wanted in my life.

Review

Okay so I really wanted to LOVE this book and I tried…I enjoyed I think more of the other characters than anything. Reid, as much as I loved him at first I didn’t care for him much as the story went on. I don’t think I will continue the series. I just wasn’t pulled in the way I was hoping. I loved the cover! I really did! I loved the theory of the story.

I was just a little confused and lost on a few of the aspects. Like this huge secret. WHAT? Okay I don’t want to ruin anything for anyone because I absolutely hate when people post spoilers in their reviews.

Okay so without trying to ruin it for anyone…

It starts off okay, it got me interested. She meets her brothers friends, have to say I liked them. There is something going on that they don’t want her involved in. Okay got my interest more…makes me wonder. Then there is the issue with her and her father. That could have been a good little side conflict!! With her and her fathers chick. Oh that could have been good! But nope…okay starting to lose interest…secrets, and more secrecy. Okay so at this point I think the whole secret thing had started to annoy me. I mean I get when you start “seeing” someone you try to trust that eventually they will open up to you and tell you what is going on. BUT at what point do you just say ahhh screw it. You are an asshole and you kinda treat me like crap at times so I’m out. BUT it is a story so I figure let’s just get through this…

It gets good again…the secret comes out at some point and I have to say I was VERY disappointed. I was expecting something HUGE at this point, well lets just say bigger than what was given. What I don’t understand is how she didn’t figure it out I mean really?? Anywho…things happen and well yeah I just wanted to finish it at this point. I don’t like NOT finishing books.

So once I got it finished I do have to say that the way it ends, that little hint into what is to come in the next book for me was more intriguing than anything. I am not in any hurry to get into it right now but I am sure I might at some point.

The one thing I loved most would have to be all the other guys I just wasn’t a big Reid fan, I think that may be why I wasn’t much into this one. She to be honest kind of worked my nerves also. I mean she really couldn’t have been that naive right? Well maybe she was, I mean it happens in real life all the time right? The other guys were great! They made me want to continue to read! 🙂

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

