Review ~ After Hours by Cara McKenna

16104369

Title: After Hours

Author: Cara McKenna

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

A dangerous infatuation with a rough and ready man…

Erin Coffey has been a nurse for years, but nothing’s prepared her for the physical and emotional demands of her new position. Needing to move closer to her dysfunctional family, she takes a dangerous job at Larkhaven Psychiatric Hospital, where she quickly learns that she needs protection—and she meets the strong, over-confident coworker who’s more than willing to provide it.

Kelly Robak is the type of guy that Erin has sworn she’d never get involved with. She’s seen firsthand, via her mess of a sister, what chaos guys like him can bring into a woman’s life. But she finds herself drawn to him anyway, even when he shows up at her door, not eager to take no for an answer.

What Erin finds even more shocking than Kelly’s indecent proposal is how much she enjoys submitting to his every command. But he can’t play the tough guy indefinitely. If they want to have more than just an affair, both will have to open up and reveal what they truly need.

Review

Okay so I became a huge Cara McKenna fan after reading her book Willing VictimIt is one of my absolute favorites. It is also one of the very few that I have found that have that whole ‘rape-play’ aspect to it. I heard that this one was a good one to read and I do I have to say that yes it took me a little while before I started this one because I have been on a search for a book that is similar in content to the first one I read by her.

I finally jumped in and started this one and I did like it! I didn’t read the synopsis so I wasn’t sure what to expect although I was happy with how it turned out. I was at first thinking hmm…. a relationship with someone who is in a mental institute could be interesting. Then I realized that Kelly isn’t a patient but works there. 🙂

He is so closed off and has a very dominant personality. He lets her know ahead of time that he is a very “I want what I want when I want it” kind of guy. Which don’t get me wrong got my interest immediately. I liked him very much and could see how Erin would as well. Now a little heads up. IF you are looking for BDSM in this book you won’t get it. He is Dominant as far as knowing what he wants and going after it and expecting it BUT that is where it ends. Yes there is a difference! He is very forward so that is another thing that I liked about him.

“I’m a dick, not a piece of shit.”

you crazy chicks are always fucking rabid in the sack.”

Erin’s family life is so messed up and so that made me wonder where things were going to go as well. Her sister though, man talk about just not getting it, but some people are just drawn to complete assholes, that would be her sister for sure.

Hot and steamy … Absolutely! I am glad I took the time to read this one. It was full of angst and turmoil. She didn’t know what to believe, think or feel at times. He also wasn’t exactly an open book. She didn’t ask he didn’t tell. Kind of like reality, if you don’t talk to someone you won’t get actual answers you will only be left assumptions that can eat at a person.

I enjoyed where this story went, it was a fun journey. I will say that the one thing that I always want when I am reading a stand alone book is an epilogue. Something to give me more about them maybe a few years down the line.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

