Review ~ Safe With Me by Kristen Proby

17201110

Title: Safe With Me

Author: Kristen Proby

Series: With Me In Seattle #5

69bd7-addtogoodreads

10 synopsis

Keeping others safe is what Caleb Montgomery does. He’s never had a problem taking on an assignment, whether it was during his dangerous SEAL days or his most recent job of training war mercenaries. But being assigned to keep Brynna Vincent and her adorable daughters, Maddie and Josie, safe from an unknown threat has thrown Caleb off his axis. Hot for the tall brunette since she came back to town more than a year ago, being close to her day in and day out is cracking Caleb’s resolve to keep his hands off her gorgeous body and his head in the mission. Brynna is sick and tired of being afraid. All she wants is a normal, quiet life for her and her precious girls. Just as she’s settling into her new home in Seattle and feeling safe again, Caleb shows up on her doorstep insisting the danger is as high as ever. But whether she needs to be sheltered from the threat in her past, or from the intense emotions she feels for the sexy, protective man sleeping in her home, remains to be seen. What will happen if Brynna and her girls fall in love with a man so broken he may not be able to protect them from the danger that threatens, much less himself?

Review

I was looking forward to this one to find out exactly what was going on with Brynna we find out that something is happening with her in the novella Under the Mistletoe With Me. I wanted to know WHAT happened, but we don’t know much.

You do get a little of everyone mixed in every book but I know that if I wanted to KNOW what was going on I had to wait for the story of Brynn. I couldn’t wait to get started. I missed my Montgomery men! I should have started it sooner but I was in the middle of another book so I had to finish before starting this one. I know that for some people the first book was a little slow and for me it isn’t my favorite in the series BUT they all have gotten better as they come.

I fell in love with Matt though. He is the one man I am looking forward to the most the one that stole my heart the one that I instantly knew he was MINE! So YES ladies…he belongs to ME! So I am looking forward to reading the next book!

Okay now back to this one. 🙂 We get to find out what exactly happened with Brynn and why she came all of a sudden and seems as if she is scared and in hiding. We also get to see the girls. The girls, Brynn’s twins, I wasn’t honestly sure what to expect. They completely took over every scene they were in, I actually loved them. I loved how they just loved Caleb! I love kids and how honest they are and I am glad that Kristen put that in there. I absolutely LOVED reading and seeing how Caleb interacted with the girls also. I wasn’t sure what was going on with him and why he was fighting his attraction to her. I kind of wanted to be mad at him.  Oh and don’t get me wrong I did get pissed at him at one point in the book.

The only thing I wish I could change would be that I did feel like maybe their story should have come sooner, it was pulled out in the other books with glimpses and reminders that there is something going on with her that we all wanted to know but it felt like we had to wait and wait and wait to find out. When we finally find out what happened and what was going on…It was good don’t get me wrong, but I think the build up had me expecting more than what was given. I just kind of wish this one would have come a little earlier in the series.

In her other books there is a connection between the people that is so strong…I do have to say with this one I did feel like the connection was a little bit of a miss at some points. I felt like they both wanted each other so bad but then didn’t want to admit it but then she was all in and he was fighting it and I am sure they were supposed to be that way and if that was the case then Kristen absolutely did just that. It pulled me in and pushed me away at times. It was a tug-a-war back and forth. I have NEVER wanted to slap two people in a book as much as I wanted to slap the two of them. I am sure that is part of her plan :).

My absolute favorite in all of these books and something I look forward in EVERY one of her books is when they all get together! It is the absolute best! It makes me laugh, the best scene I think in this book when everyone is together that had me laughing would be when they were all together then started talking about boobs. One thing about women, and Kristen nailed it is we will tell other women its okay to touch if they want to. Ha-ha I like your books can I feel? Usually you won’t get a no well as long as you are friends. NOW if a man says it you might get slapped. I read that to my husband and he asked me, what is wrong with women, he said men don’t go up to each other talking about their balls and say “Can I feel how you’re hanging?” hahahaha I don’t think I laughed so hard after that conversation.

All in all I love the series and the banter. I am also looking forward to reading the next one.  🙂

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

