Review ~ Fighting Redemption by Kate McCarthy

18304765

Title: Fighting Redemption

Author: Kate McCarthy

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

Ryan Kendall is broken. He understands pain. He knows the hand of violence and the ache of loss. He knows what it means to fail those who need you. Being broken doesn’t stop him wanting the one thing he can’t have; Finlay Tanner. Her smile is sweet and her future bright. She’s the girl he grew up with, the girl he loves, the girl he protects from the world, and from himself.

At nineteen, Ryan leaves to join the Australian Army. After years of training he becomes an elite SAS soldier and deploys to the Afghanistan war. His patrol undertakes the most dangerous missions a soldier can face. But no matter how far he runs, or how hard he fights, his need for Finlay won’t let go.

Returning home after six years, one look is all it takes to know he can’t live without her. But sometimes love isn’t enough to heal what hurts. Sometimes people like him can’t be fixed, and sometimes people like Finlay deserve more than what’s left.

This is a story about war and the cost of sacrifice. Where bonds are formed, and friendships found. Where those who are strong, fall hard. Where love is let go, heartache is born, and heroes are made. Where one man learns that the hardest fight of all, is the fight to save himself.
Review

Okay this one everyone was talking about and saying how amazing it is. I decided to jump on the train and read it.
It was good I will admit that.
I do love me a military guy that’s for sure! This was the first Australian military man I have read! 🙂

The characters would be Jake, Ryan, and Fin. They are the main ones. There are a few others that play a role in this story but you will get to those later in the book. I will say that some of my favorites were the guys that Jake and Ryan are in the military with. My husband was enlisted in the Marine Corps for 8 years so I know how that banter works and I love it. I especially l love it when a writer gets it right! Not many writers who are not married to the military can capture that banter between the guys. I do have to say that she did well! I don’t think it matters if a guy is enlisted in the US or any other place, the camaraderie between the guys they serve with is something that is amazing!

I was expecting to cry a time or two but didn’t, so I think that might be part of it for me. I just wasn’t as connected to the story as I was hoping for. I think it was pretty predictable which is not a bad thing. Sometimes I enjoy reading a book that I have an idea where it is going. There were a few twists that I didn’t see coming though, so that was fun. I understand that Ryan has been just so broken from having grown up in a home that was not that great but to think he is not worthy of love, that is one thing in just about every book that I have read that drives me up the wall sometimes. I know it is true and that does happen to men but it is frustrating sometimes.

Okay and one thing that I am not a big fan of is a prologue they give away too much sometimes.

Now that aside it was a good story. I really liked Jake and Ryan a lot. I like the protectiveness of them for Fin.

There were moments that will just rip your heart out.

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

