Review ~ Truth by Aleatha Romig

16070018

Title: Truth

Author: Aleatha Romig

Series: Consequences #2

69bd7-addtogoodreads

10 synopsis

When she first arrived to his home, her goal was survival. Through strength and compartmentalization Claire captivated her captor. Her resilience in the face of his rule threatened Anthony’s well developed plan. He thought he taught her to behave-but domination became desire and Claire taught Tony to love.

Their passion and adoration in a world of opulence appeared perfect, yet the reality was a roller coaster of emotion. Claire’s world teetered on the edge of sanity as Antony monitored her every move. When given the opportunity to flee, Claire drove away—a fateful decision which began a well laid plan.

Unbeknownst to either of them, there were others who saw past the perfect facade of Anthony Rawlings. There were others who saw the TRUTH. Conspiracy and unfulfilled promises result in an early prison release for Claire. Not just a release—a pardon. According to the law, her crime never happened!

Will it be that easy? Faced with freedom from her past—can Claire seize it? Can she build a new life, mend her broken spirit, become the woman she once was, and seek her own revenge? Or is it all a game? And does the game master have different plans?
How does Sophia Burke fit into the puzzle that is Tony and Claire? Will her presence affect the future of this well esteemed man? Can he dominate twice? Is that his goal?

TRUTH continues the tumultuous saga of CONSEQUENCES,introduces new players, and uncovers more intrigue. Aleatha Romig skillfully weaves past transgressions through current deception to create a fervent world of obsessed desire. In this reality can an all-consuming relationship survive?

When buried sins are discovered they threaten not only Tony and Claire’s future—but their very lives! Will the TRUTH be revealed in time?

ReviewOkay so like I said in my review of the first book I am SO glad I waited to read this series because I was able to jump right to this one.

Now I have to say that I was much more pleased with this book I hated Anthony in the first book, I did have moments of aww with him where I started to kind of like him but they were few and far between. This one for me was MUCH better than the first! I really liked this one.

There were so many twists and turns that I did not see coming. I didn’t have any friends that read these books that I could text because I wanted to! I needed to talk to someone about what I thought. BUT had no one that has read them. So I had the turmoil going on inside me alone 😦 haha.

So to start off Clair gets a pardon. Some of my favorite things would be the quotes that she puts at the beginning of each chapter. 🙂 It’s the simple things. So there is a lot that goes on in this one A LOT! So we get to meet Harry who is Amber’s brother  and Phill who is a PI that is hired by Anthony to keep an eye on Claire. These are the people who take a big part of this book. Amber if you remember was in the first book she was the fiance of Simon Johnson who was Claire’s boyfriend in College. Okay so now that is all cleared up these are the people you will read about most in this book. Oh and can’t forget Anthony. I can honestly say that I didn’t think that Aletha Romig could at ALL bring back Anthony in my mind but I have to say that yes, she actually did. At the end of it all I did like him and felt bad for the guy.

This book goes back and forth, we get more of what happened in his past with his grandfather so we get more info on that and what exactly is going on. I had wanted to just beat Claire a few times that’s for sure. I was so at a loss as to how she could even think to talk to that man (Anthony). I didn’t understand how it could possibly be even a possibility. BUT in the end it made sense, he is a powerful man who can control MANY things and so I can understand…a little I guess.

There are many moments that had me at a loss and well I couldn’t see how that would work out to Clair’s benefit but couldn’t wait to see how things played out. I kept going and going, I had a few moments of OMG, and NO WAY, along with OH HELL NO and DON’T DO IT! But in the end I think this was my favorite so far. It was so much better than the first one. There is stuff that happens in this one that had me at a loss. I can honestly say that I don’t know how I didn’t figure a few of things out because it was obvious or at least I thought it was when I figured it out and thought back on the first book and the beginning of this one.

Okay so Phill, well let me say I loved the guy from that first interaction in Arizona. I wasn’t sure what to expect of him to begin with but have to say he grew on me. I can honestly say that I was really starting to NOT like Claire’s sister. She drove me nuts! I get that she was just a concerned family member at times but good lord!

If you want something that has so many twists and turns that make you wonder WHY THE HELL did I wait so long to read this series?? And the ending?????!!!! Another…OH man…that ending. What is going to happen next?

Here are my 3 updates as I read…

60.0% Ohhhh hell no! I’m sorry I really am pulled into this story and want to see where this goes but at the same time COME ON CLAIRE!!! What the hell is wrong with you? Kick him in the balls!!!!”

 

75.0% “No way I think I figured it out …. Well part of it!!!!!”

 

95.0% “So I THOUGHT I had it figured out…but now maybe I think I do! lol That was interesting! and NOT what I had expected.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

