Review ~ Selling Scarlett by Ella James

18516961

Title: Selling Scarlett

Author: Ella James

Series: Love Inc. #1

ADD TO GOODREADS

10 synopsis

Elizabeth DeVille doesn’t belong at a party like this – one where the gowns cost more than her Camry and cigars run higher than her grad school utility bills. Dragged out of seclusion by her best friend Suri, Elizabeth is merely playing dress-up, rubbing elbows with a crowd that banished her troubled family years ago.

Hunter West is tired. Tired of parties, tired of pretending, and tired of trying to right a wrong that haunts him every day. Bourbon heir and professional poker player by day, by night Hunter is gambling with his life in a high-stakes game of crime and blackmail.

When Elizabeth stumbles into Hunter’s den of vices, she’s a light in the darkness, a flame in the void. And, just like everything he touches, Hunter mars her in a record time. To rectify the damage done, Elizabeth needs money she doesn’t have, and she’s come up with a foolproof way to get it.

Follow Elizabeth – code-named Scarlett – to the lush Nevada brothel where she’ll auction her virginity and risk the only thing that’s not for sale: her heart. The highest bidder is a familiar face, with wicked hands and the devil’s mouth. And a secret so dark that it could cost her life.

Review

I wasn’t sure what to expect. I jumped in and it was a pretty good read I would have to say. I am usually not a big fan of the whole virginity thing. I did hesitate to read this one because of that issue. It isn’t the normal read about a girl losing her virginity and falling in love with the guy that she looses it to. That is just the one thing that is common in most books that have a college age girl who is a virgin. Anywho…I was interested once I started to get into it.

It is a good concept, I have not read a book that has a girl selling her virginity. Okay now that I think about it there is probably one other book. It did make me think that maybe I need to find a few more like this.

There were people in this book that I loved as well as a few that I absolutely hated. I always love a good story when I can find someone in there that just pisses me off.

Things go and take a few turns, I will say that a couple I saw coming. I like both kinds of books, ones that I can see coming, and the ones that I don’t see at all.

I had at first thought that there would be some bdsm in this one but there wasn’t. I think that might be one thing that might throw some people by the title. When you think of someone selling a person, well for me my mind goes right to bdsm. So if you think that might be a part of this story it isn’t.

The one thing that I was having a problem would be her talking from time to time. I am not saying that it is not possible, that there are not people like that because there are. There are people that do not curse, but it just drove me up the wall just a tad….

“Holy heck…”

“Holy crabcakes….”

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

