Review ~ The Professional (part 1) by Kresley Cole

18223667

Title: The Professional

Author: Kresley Cole

Series: *serial* Part 1

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

He makes the rules . . .
Mafiya enforcer Aleksandr “The Siberian” Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss is unwavering, until he meets the boss’s long-lost daughter, a curvy, tantalizing redhead who haunts his mind and heats his blood like no other. Ordered to protect her, Sevastyan will do anything to possess her as well—on his own wicked terms.

Rules are made to be broken . . .
PhD student Natalie Porter had barely recovered from her first sight of the breathtakingly gorgeous Sevastyan before the professional hit man whisks her away to Russia, thrusting her into a world of extreme wealth and wanton pleasures. With every day she spends under his protection, she falls deeper under his masterful spell.

Are you ready to play?
Yet all is not as it seems. To remove Natalie from an enemy’s reach, Sevastyan spirits her into hiding. From an opulent palace in Russia to the decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy in Paris, the two lovers will discover that even their darkest—and most forbidden—fantasies can come true…

Review

This is the first book I have read by this author and I like it so far. I was not blown away because there were a few things that had me at a loss, but overall it was a good read. I didn’t notice at first that this is what they call a serial series. So it comes out in parts, not quite a novella. So as far as that goes. I can honestly say that I am not a fan of them. I can honestly say that I am not a fan of how it just abruptly ends. This is my first serial and I think I will pass on them from now on. I would personally rather wait for all the parts to come out then read it as a whole. I was getting into the story and it was really just starting and before I knew it, it was done.

Okay what I liked about it. Well what can I say I liked Sevastyan. I new the instant he called her pet I was done for. I have a thing for dominant men. I especially love when they are rough. NOW that  being said, he as a ‘dominant’ didn’t do a very good job a time or two keeping himself in check. 😉

Now about her, at the beginning of the book we start off with her and her friends at a bar and she apparently has this ability to know exactly how a man is by looking at him. NOW, to a point this is true, friends of mine and I have done this before. Men are pretty easy to read, as are some women. BUT when we find out in the same few pages that she still has her V card in tact that kind of made me wonder, how can she know a man if she has never been with one. BUT then we find out later in the book that she has toys and has had ‘other’ fun with guys. I will say that I am SO glad this is not the normal virgin. When I read this I thoughtokay I can see that, it isn’t something that I have read over and over again, not in this manner at least…

“The problem with growing up in a small town and going to a tiny school? There hadn’t been a big selection of males to choose from.”

So when she and he meet up and there is this connection between them I wonder to myself how this will all work out. There are things that come to play that set up the plot of what will be the whole story to come. It did get me interested. I wanted to know ‘what now’ so I kept reading but like I said before I knew it I was at the end. It just ends.

There are a few things that are said among some of the people that she meets when she goes to Russia that make me wonder how things will play out but I won’t know anything more until the next part comes out. There was some steam though! The plane ride was awesome.

NOW just as an FYI in this one that I had gotten from netgalley I read it up to the end. I don’t read the synopsis’ of books for the most part I usually go off other bloggers I follow or friends. SO when I read this one after I finished, I see this last part in the synopsis…

 From an opulent palace in Russia to the decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy in Paris, the two lovers will discover that even their darkest—and most forbidden—fantasies can come true…

And I am wondering did I get jipped? Did I not get the whole thing? I mean it did end abruptly. But what I readNONE of that is in it. I am not sure if this is the synopsis of the entire story when it is done but all I know is I felt like I missed something. I mean it says “Part 1” on the Goodreads page but like I said there is no Paris in the one I read.

Overall it was good and kept me interested and wondering what was going to happen. For a ‘mafiya‘ family they are pretty lax. Maybe it’s just me but when I read Mafia/Mafiya I instantly think Godfather. I guess there can be good guys that run a ‘Mafia/Mafiya’? I will have to wait and see what exactly happens when more parts come out so I won’t be left just wondering and I can read through. 🙂

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

