Review ~ Watch Over Me by Tara Sivec

17898228

 

Title: Watch Over Me

Author: Tara Sivec

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

Addison Snow is your typical teenager. She has a family that loves her, friends that make her laugh, and she’s wrapped up in the excitement of graduating high school and going off to college to pursue her dream of becoming an author. When her mother, who also happens to be Addison’s best friend, dies unexpectedly, her world comes to a crashing halt.

Death changes everyone…

To make the pain go away, Addison and her father travel down separate, dark paths. She chooses to end her grief forever, while he drowns his sorrows in the bottom of a bottle. How do you learn to live again when the most important person in your life is gone?

Addison struggles to pick up the pieces of her life. Instead of getting back to being the carefree teenager she once was, she’s stuck handling all of the responsibilities that should have been her father’s. She has no time to grieve, no time for emotions, and no time for happinessuntil Zander Reinhardt walks in. All it takes is one little handwritten note on a napkin to kick-start her back to life and help her realize that maybe there’s more to that life than pain.

But can it really be that simple? Can she really trust this man who makes her feel alive again for the first time in a year?

Addison and Zander both have secrets they aren’t ready to share. When the truth finally comes out, is it enough to tear them apart or has something bigger than themselves always been watching over them, pushing them together, making sure they both get their happily ever after?

 

Review

I knew going in that this was not going to be anything like her Chocolate Lovers series but still wanted to see how this story works out. I had heard good things about it and I did like it I didn’t love it but I liked it.

You have a girl who loses her mom when she is a senior in high school. Her father has lost the love of his life and so he kind of checks out. She has to take over and is instantly placed in the adult role, she has to take over and make sure things are taken care of because her father doesn’t.

Now I would say that although I still got to get the fun parts of Tara in this book with her quirkiness with Zander I was not in absolute love with this book. I LOVE the idea of the story. In all reality there really isn’t much that I can say that I didn’t like other then it just didn’t pull me in the way I was hoping. I was really hoping that it would suck me in completely and it just didn’t.

For me though I can say that for anyone who has lost a mother or family member, you do get that connection. There are things that you will relate to. I know that there were a few of those moments for me as well as I read. I knew pretty early on how everything was going to play out. I think that is probably one of the reasons I was not wowed I was kind of hoping that it was going to have some other twists and turns maybe. For some who won’t see things coming will love it.

I do hope that others love it more than I did but I didn’t dislike it. Like I said I just wanted something to completely suck me in and it didn’t do that for me. It was a good and touching story!

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

