Review ~ Addicted To You by Krista & Becca Ritchie

18369048

Title: Addicted To You

Author: Krista & Becca Ritchie

Series: Addicted #1

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

She’s addicted to sex. He’s addicted to boozethe only way out is rock bottom.

No one would suspect shy Lily Calloway’s biggest secret. While everyone is dancing at college bars, Lily stays in the bathroom. To get laid. Her compulsion leads her to one-night stands, steamy hookups and events she shamefully regrets. The only person who knows her secret happens to have one of his own.

Loren Hale’s best friend is his bottle of bourbon. Lily comes at a close second. For three years, they’ve pretended to be in a real relationship, hiding their addictions from their families. They’ve mastered the art of concealing flasks and random guys that filter in and out of their apartment.

But as they sink beneath the weight of their addictions, they cling harder to their destructive relationship and wonder if a life together, for real, is better than a lie. Strangers and family begin to infiltrate their guarded lives, and with new challenges, they realize they may not just be addicted to alcohol and sex.

Their real vice may be each other.

Review

Okay let me start off by saying I am not a big fan of the cover. I get why the girl looks so damn skinny because that is how she is described at one point in the book but I am not a big fan. I think the cover could have been better. Yes I am one of those people who judge a book by its cover, sadly. I am getting better at not doing that but I will admit that it does help, for me it does.

Now on to the book….in a nut shell she is addicted to sex and he is addicted to alcohol. They are best of friends and to cover up their problems they pretend to be in a relationship as a cover for their family. That is pretty much it.

SO to sum it up they both have a big problem. I read a book that is about a girl who loves sexand to be honest it was kind of annoying. I went into this one thinking I was going to feel the same about Lily when I started this book but surprisingly I was not. I instantly wanted to know more about her. I have heard of sex addicts, not being one myself. Don’t get me wrong I too enjoy it and that fevered feeling and desire you get. NOW I could not imagine thinking about that damn near every minute of every day. Never feeling like you have had enough or satisfy your need. So reading about Lily I will have to say that I was instantly pulled in. It was like I was reading a memoir about a girl who is a sex addict. (I haven’t actually so I don’t want to say that I am comparing fiction to reality for those who may have this addiction but for someone who does not have this problem I can only imagine what it would be like, so for me it seemed realistic. )

I do have a little bit of a personal connection with the alcoholic side. I grew up with one that was around so I can relate to that aspect. To a point. I didn’t understand it because I was young but to a point it made sense. I am pretty sure that the person that was in my life that was an alcoholic drank to numb. It just got really bad to the point that they lost a lot of people in their lives that they cared about. I am sure that many who drink to numb what is going on with them at the time think that if you only do it once in a while it is not a big thingbut it is still a problem. Lo has a big problem though. He can’t go long without drinking.

The huge problem with the two of them is that they both won’t say anything to the other about their vice. They just act as if everything is normal. They are too afraid to say something to one another because they don’t want to have the other say something to them about their problem.

The two of them are adamant about keeping people at arms length and not to let people into their bubble because they will notice things. They are too worried about people catching on to them. There are a couple of people who find a way to wiggle in. It is interesting. There are a few things that happen a few I kind of saw coming and kind of expected to a point. It was a great book I thought. For me the first half was amazing and the second I like I already said I kind of saw some of the things coming. BUT that didn’t ruin it for me in the least. The writing was great and I know some may feel as if it is a book filled with sex and drinking and to a point yes that is the case but there is a story there. There is something deeper.

I can honestly say that I couldn’t put this one down and I had told the book group that I am in about it. I want more people to read it because I want opinions from my friends on their thoughts. I really liked this one.

I will read the next in the series! I want to see where things go. I didn’t think this book would strike something in me as strong as it did but, it did. I even teared up there at the end.

I would recommend this to everyone! I think personally it was a good one!!!!

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

